We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,728)
Filter reviews
2,728 results
Traveller rating
1,803
554
246
91
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,803
554
246
91
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brace restaurant spa facilities executive room poachers bar steam room golf buggy hunters restaurant the main hotel turn down service main hall luxury hotel every member of staff small balcony underfloor heating birthday treat first class relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 2,728 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Lovely inside and out, very friendly helpful staff, plenty of parking and very easy to find. The grounds were gorgeous and the lake area very pleasant. Rooms were of a generous size and the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear John H

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review of your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to explore our extensive grounds; in particular our beautiful lake beyond the gardens. There is certainly ample parking outside both of our hotel buildings - The Hall and The Keep - and our location is very easy to find, just off the A174 between Whitby and Sandsend.

All of our staff are proud to work at Raithwaite and to maintain our high standards, and to see you acknowledge our staff as being friendly and helpful is very gratifying. I shall certainly pass on your kind words regarding your dining experience to our Head Chef and the rest of the team.

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Beautiful Hotel, exceptional grounds and the staff were very professional. I would highly recommend and I definately intend to come back. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Although we didn't see all the grounds, what we saw was absolutely stunning!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hkey135219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear hkey135219

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our staff to be professional and helpful to you. Our beautiful and well-maintained gardens are certainly not to be missed, and we hope you get another chance to visit us to explore them more thoroughly.

Warmest Regards


The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

From arrival to departure excellent well trained staff look after your every need. The hotel gardens are simply superb. Hotel is welcoming and well appointed and in a great location just outside Whitby. Hotel facilities are excellent as is the hotel spa.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Richard F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy our stunning gardens, and our peaceful and elegant Spa, where our highly trained team of therapists can help you unwind and feel relaxed.

Our unique location provides the perfect base for those looking to investigate the history of Whitby, enjoy the picturesque village of Sandsend or exploring the many paths along the coast and over the North York Moors.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards


The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to Raithwaite and I can't fault anything. The staff can't do enough for you. The spa itself isn't huge but has everything you need and our treatments were lovely. The restaurants are great too. I recommend walking up to Sandsend as the views there are amazing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank giraffe9861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear giraffe9861

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is good to read that you enjoyed our elegant and tranquil Spa, and our highly trained and friendly therapists helped you to relax. It is also fantastic to see that you were able to sample both of our restaurants, The Brasserie and The Hunter's Lodge, both offering their own unique menu options to ensure the best choice for all tastes and dietary requirements. Our staff are proud to represent the Estate, and will always do everything they can to assist.

The views from Sandsend are indeed beautiful, particularly the view towards Whitby with the Abbey on the headland. It is certainly worth a walk along the beach towards Whitby just to take in that view.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Warmest Regards


The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We were an ‘executive ‘ room which is the standard fare. It was spacious, smart and comfortable, spot on for our needs. The spa was wonderful, just what we needed at the end of a long walk. Everything was clean and new throughout. We enjoyed our meals in the Brasserie although on the first evening we were a little disappointed by the blanquette de veau. Otherwise we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear TomNorthYorkshire

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy our elegant and peaceful Spa after a long walk - our unique location is perfect for walks along the coastal paths, or heading out onto the North York Moors.

Our rooms are designed to be as comfortable as possible to enable all our guests to feel relaxed, and it is good to see that you were able to feel at ease. All of us at Raithwaite are proud to represent the Estate and work hard to ensure the highest standards are met in cleanliness and overall service.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards


The Raithwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews