We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
31
4
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
4
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoasted tea cakedefinitely recommend a visitlovely little placethank you for a lovelystayed for two nightsperfect locationroom was cleana lovely staytearoomabbeycuppaharbourgarrytidy
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I know it's also a B and B - but we just called in ' on spec ' for refreshments i.e. tea, hot chocolate and an ice cream Sundae and our rating is based on that.

Very pleasant lady, nice and clean and decorated in a gothic style which was cool.Good service and the drinks were pretty much spot on.

Only ( potential ) down side is they only accept cash, no cards!

Other than that, no complaints at all..... and their Nosferatu Ice Cream Sundae is to die for ( geddit? )

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank MichaelCR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Perfect location to enjoy historic and fun Whitby. Wake up to view of the sea and the sounds of birds. Spotlessly clean room with newly remodeled bath. Friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed. There are outside steps leading to rooms, so this accommodation wouldn't work for persons unable to manage a flight of steps. But if steps aren't a problem, I highly recommend this delightful establishment.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank jeanniesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

As the fog cleared from the remains of Whitby Abby we stumbled over this tea room. Fearful for our lives we decided to stop at the Abby steps tea room. What unfolded within that tea room I dare not speak. Until now !!!!
All the monsters of the night raised from the dead and tormented us while we rested our feet.
Warning if you try the scary sundaes you will never leave.

Loved it thank you x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the B/H weekend, to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary in one of our most favourite places. Our first stay on this side of the harbour and would definitely return. Yes it is quite expensive, yes there are steep steps upto the entrance and no breakfast isn't included but the room (no.2) was beautiful and the view is gorgeous. After being shown to our room, we were left to it, which suited us fine but after the contact I had already had with the owners, I felt that any problems would have been rectified promptly. Thanks to Nathan & his wife for a lovely stay and sorry again about the late arrival.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Foamysun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a lovely room right on the famous 199 steps . All clean and bathroom fittings looked new .Amazing views from the bed . Would definitely stay again.
Just be aware if people have mobility issues as a few steep steps to climb . Parking need to pay at the abbey or in town at the public carparks.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank janebatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews