We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels just like home”
Review of The Waverley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waverley
Ranked #27 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The Waverley really is the best place to stay at in Whitby. Our hosts are always there to help if needed and to offer advice about places to visit in the area. On top of that the place is always spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are the best we've had on our travels.WE'd recommend the Waverley to anyone wanting B&B accommodation at its finest.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterpDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandJWhitby, Owner at The Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the title you have given which is in keeping with our strapline of "Enjoy our home".

It was good to welcome you back to Whitby and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stephen and Julie made us feel very welcome. The Waverley is spotless and homely. it is situated in a quiet part of town within easy access of town or beach and near a lovely park. This was our first trip to Whitby and we benefitted from Stephen's local knowledge which was very useful. Breakfast is excellent. Altogether a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank macarons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2011

Thank you for choosing The Waverley for your first visit to Whitby and for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are glad that you had a favourable impression of Whitby and hope to see you on your next visit.

Thanks again

Stephen & Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

A real highlight of our trip to England. Stephen and Julie are the perfect hosts, full of knowledge of the area and very helpful. If they didn't know something, they found out. Food was good. Service went beyond our expectations. View from our room was wonderful and we became absorbed with the changing view of the Abbey as the light changed. Thank you, Stephen and Julie, for a wonderful experience. Wish you well from the States. -Sandra and Jim, Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 June 2011

Thank you.

One of the pleasures of running The Waverley is meeting interesting people such as you from the four corners of the world and it is good to be appreciated for what we try to do. We hope to see you again if you get back to Whitby or maybe we will get to Georgia and drop in on you.

Best wishes to you both

Stephen & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Just back from another fantastic, three night stay at The Waverley and loved every minute of our mini-break.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed back like family members and we were allocated our usual room, which was spotlessley clean, and as ever, very well presented. Stephen and Julie provide you with a very comprehensive guide to Whitby, which covers many local attractions and restaurants, including places to go within the surrounding area.

One of the highlights of The Waverley is the excellent breakfasts, which consists of a choice of cereals, homemade preserves and a full English breakfast if you desire. However, the choice doesn't end there and you can even have yourself a famous Fortunes kipper, if you give the required notice...!

A testimony to how good The Waverley is and what brilliant hosts Stephen and Julie are, is the number of familiar faces we encountred during our recent visit. We spoke with many fellow residents, who we encountred during our last visit...!

Whitby is our perfect UK holiday destination and if you are planning a trip to this beautiful part of the world, I would highly recommend you stay at The Waverley.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that we still come up to the standards you have come to expect and that once again you enjoyed your trip to Whitby.

We have fewer reviews than many but, as you know, we do not solicit them which makes it all the more pleasing when anyone takes the trouble to write one. We will always aim to maintain the highest standards.

Good look to you with your new business venture and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights,the house is kept immaculate,the rooms are cosy with lots of little personal touches,including Eco.friendly toiletries.The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice,using local products.We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 May 2011

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the weather helped. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always gratifying when we receive unsolicited postings, we do appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Whitby and we will try to arrange for good weather. Stephen & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#25 of 152 in Whitby
261 reviews
0.3 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 152 in Whitby
623 reviews
0.5 km away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#23 of 152 in Whitby
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
The White House
The White House
#43 of 152 in Whitby
367 reviews
0.5 km away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley

Address: 17 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: ₹ 4,547 - ₹ 7,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality AA 4 star Guest House built in 1898, The Waverley has been offered accommodation for the discerning traveler for more than a century. With an enviable reputation for a friendly welcome, we are passionate about providing quality service and ensuring that our guests enjoy an exceptional breakfast using local and organic produce for breakfast and Fairtrade tea and coffee in the guest rooms.Situated on Whitby's West Cliff, many or our rooms have panoramic views of the Abbey yet are within a short stroll of the many attractions and regular events in Whitby.Open all year round, we offer a flexible range of double, twin and single en-suite facilities with high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Whitby
Waverley Hotel Whitby
The Waverley Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing