We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 'must visit' place”

Humble Pie 'n' Mash
Ranked #7 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small unlicensed eatery, serving just pie mash peas and gravy. We welcome dogs and their owners but have a dog free area upstairs. We don't have any Alcohol, but you are more than welcome to bring your own or pop over the road to the Endeavour pub who will let you bring a nice cold pint back to your food.If we do something wrong or make a mistake, please let us know or contact me through the messaging service and i will put it right.I believe you should be able to have a filling quality meal for a decent price.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a 'must visit' place”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

this little place was recommended to us in our b&b book, its on the abbey side, easy to find. upon entering i loved the quirkyness of the tables and missmatched chairs and frank sinatra music in the background. there are a few tables downstairs and more on the 1st floor - it is good, basic down to earth pie, mash and peas, washed down with a lovely mug of tea/coffee...and if you can manage it a home made pudding after.
We took ages to decide on our pie, some straightforward, mince and onion and other specials and unusual - very quick service and really enjoyable.
would really recommend as something a little different!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anders66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,087
    414
    79
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Humble Pie n Mash is by far our favourite place to eat in Whitby. The pies are the best we've ever tasted (we tried both vegetarian pies) and the restaurant is homely and quaint. It's also excellent value for money. We hope they add more vegetarian pies to the menu so that we can try even more on our next visit to Whitby : )

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastleupontyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hungry geordeis”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

great food served up in a novel way reminded me of my mums hospitality.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alexanderh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Whitby (including the dogs!)”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We come to Whitby every year and Humble Pie 'n' Mash is our favourite place to visit due to the AMAZING pies (we usually take some home for the freezer too), jam roly poly & the dog friendly atmosphere.

This place is an absolute gem and I would recommend to all those looking for a cosy little treat to try this place. Cheap, cheerful, good old fashioned, delightful, with music to suit the decor and atmosphere. PERFECT!!!

For all those moaning about dogs (including wet ones) may I suggest that they visit an alternative holiday destination?! Whitby is a dog walkers haven and hygiene wise... most dogs are probably more hygienic than some people I know!!! However Humble Pie does have a dog free section upstairs for those not so keen on our K9 friends. Nice to hear the owners are sticking to their guns and keeping Pie n Mash a dog friendly place to visit!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveHumblepie, Owner at Humble Pie 'n' Mash, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you! Its a fine line keeping everyone happy. I find we get the most problems with Dogs who Smoke. Inside, outside? its a tough one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simple but stunning”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

simple meal but perfect and fabulously interesting building. service personal simple and good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank plum06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Humble Pie 'n' Mash also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Humble Pie 'n' Mash? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing