We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is only one place for fish and chips in Whitby”

Hadleys Fish Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“There is only one place for fish and chips in Whitby”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We always eat here when we come for a day out to Whitby. Staff are always very friendly. Its a clean modern restaurant. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEVNorthEast_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    306
    101
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Freshly Cooked Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Everyone says go to the Magpie for fish and chips when you visit Whitby. Well its in the crappy part of town and every man and his dog goes there. Our bar man recommended Hadleys which is over the river and he was bang on. the place is clean and friendly and the food was great. Portions are generous. We ordered two SMALL cod and chips. I'd hate to see what the medium and large portions looked like and we turned down the buttered bread.

All washed down with a great cappuccino, diet coke and a Peroni. Recommended and cheaper than the Magpie

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drunken_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Plenty of tables, good service and the restaurant is nice & clean. Food looks to be prepared at the takeaway next door so you know its cooked to order.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Gray_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Fish and chips as they should be!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Visited today at lunchtime and we could not fault the service or the quality of the food. We both had haddock, chips and mushy peas which definitely hit the spot. It was obviously cooked to order and to perfection. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went around 4pm on a sunday we ordered 2 "small" fish and chips with one mushy peas the waiter informed us we could also have a pot of tea and bread and butter my partner had a drink of orange drink this we didnt know was part of the package well done fot informing us.
The fish was 9-10 inch "small" the fish was bright white and tasty in fact the fish and chips would take some beating but the best bit was to come for this exellent meal we were charged £16-05 for 2 this was outstandimg value and we have had same meal at all the good fish and chip restaurants in whitby over the years who now seem to charge 8 or 10 pounds more for the same.
Another table had the large size fish it was massive at least 16 inch and the look on their faces when they saw the size was great.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 602511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadleys Fish Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Hadleys Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing