We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
116
22
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
22
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublea great stayloved our staylovely breakfastat short noticesee you sooneaster weekendbay windowplace to stayvisit whitbyon arrivaltwo night stayroom was largecomfortable bedparking permitiandog
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I'm in two minds whether to write this review. On the one hand I want everyone to know how wonderful this guest house is. Magnolia is clean, tidy, warm, well equipped, spacious. Ian was friendly, and welcoming. We were shown to our room and given all the info we needed in such a way that it was clear, friendly and brief. We knew everything that we needed to know and were left with nothing else to do but relax!! Breakfast was without a doubt DELIGHTFUL! (I recommend a stay in Whitby if for no other reason than the breakfast) Good quailty locally sourced ingredients. If you are looking for accomodation that wont break the bank, Magnolia is the place. Now the reason I didnt want to share... There are few guest houses in Whitby that permit your dog to accompany you (especially in this price band), therefore I wanted to keep it Magnolia a secret (so I have more chance of getting accomodation in future) But just because Magnolia is dog friendly, please do not assume that it comes with a doggy smell... IT DOES NOT!!! (or maybe I should say it does to deter??) DO NOT be detered by the fact that you cannot book online. Give them a call and get yourslf booked in!

Room Tip: Room 1 was a double room, with extra seating and enough room for a Japanese Akita to play and stretch out in. Bathroom a good size with shower cubicle, toilet and hand basin. Two people & large dog could easily move around.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

well worth the money great breakfast very clean and comfy room very friendly and helpful couple also in good quite location 5 mins from front we will recommened to friends and family we will have no hesitation to go back ..alan and trace from blaydon newcastle..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dumpertruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Good Location,Great breakfast,very helpful owner.Clean rooms.

Room Tip: ground floor has bath.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfordseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have just returned from another wonderful stay in the Magnolia guest house in Whitby. Perfectly located for all amenities& parking available. Rooms are lovely! Clean & warm! There's tea, coffee & biscuits in each room, replenished every day,T.V. and en-suite bathrooms! Fantastic breakfast & great company! All in walking distance of the Abbey and old town! After using the Magnolia for the last 3-4 years we now feel like it's 'home from home'. Sarah & Ian's hospitality is second to none, and over the years we have become friends as well as using the guest house for short breaks! We would recommend anyone to try the Magnolia guest house, as they will always try their best to accommodate your needs, and i'm sure, like us, when you have tried it once you will return again and again! Cheryl & Shane (very happy customers)

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite shower. One room with a bath in the attic room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Normally we stay at the Avalon but they were full on this occasion. Charlie recommended Ian and Sarah and he didnt let us down. As four grown men who go fishing it can sometimes be hard to get suitable accomodation. Ian and Sarah came up trumps with the upstairs apartment...very clean,warm,friendly and a good hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OptimalDIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews