We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW a great place to go, and value for money.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #77 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

From first entering the guest house to the moment we left we felt like family. We received a very warm welcome from Ian the owner who couldn't have tried any harder than he did to make us feel at home. We stayed in Room 2 which was a kingsize room with loads of space in both the room and the en-suite. The room overlooked the front with a view of Whitby Abbey. The bed itself was amazingly comfortable, infact to be honest it was more comfortable than my own bed at home - which is why I really can't wait to go back. I will be recommending the Magnolia Guest House to everyone I know and i'll tell them to tell everyone they know also. The dining room was very pleasant and homely with a very good selection of food available from the lightest breakfast to the very large full english.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

I'm in two minds whether to write this review. On the one hand I want everyone to know how wonderful this guest house is. Magnolia is clean, tidy, warm, well equipped, spacious. Ian was friendly, and welcoming. We were shown to our room and given all the info we needed in such a way that it was clear, friendly and brief. We knew everything that we needed to know and were left with nothing else to do but relax!! Breakfast was without a doubt DELIGHTFUL! (I recommend a stay in Whitby if for no other reason than the breakfast) Good quailty locally sourced ingredients. If you are looking for accomodation that wont break the bank, Magnolia is the place. Now the reason I didnt want to share... There are few guest houses in Whitby that permit your dog to accompany you (especially in this price band), therefore I wanted to keep it Magnolia a secret (so I have more chance of getting accomodation in future) But just because Magnolia is dog friendly, please do not assume that it comes with a doggy smell... IT DOES NOT!!! (or maybe I should say it does to deter??) DO NOT be detered by the fact that you cannot book online. Give them a call and get yourslf booked in!

Room Tip: Room 1 was a double room, with extra seating and enough room for a Japanese Akita to play and stretc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

well worth the money great breakfast very clean and comfy room very friendly and helpful couple also in good quite location 5 mins from front we will recommened to friends and family we will have no hesitation to go back ..alan and trace from blaydon newcastle..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dumpertruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Good Location,Great breakfast,very helpful owner.Clean rooms.

Room Tip: ground floor has bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfordseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have just returned from another wonderful stay in the Magnolia guest house in Whitby. Perfectly located for all amenities& parking available. Rooms are lovely! Clean & warm! There's tea, coffee & biscuits in each room, replenished every day,T.V. and en-suite bathrooms! Fantastic breakfast & great company! All in walking distance of the Abbey and old town! After using the Magnolia for the last 3-4 years we now feel like it's 'home from home'. Sarah & Ian's hospitality is second to none, and over the years we have become friends as well as using the guest house for short breaks! We would recommend anyone to try the Magnolia guest house, as they will always try their best to accommodate your needs, and i'm sure, like us, when you have tried it once you will return again and again! Cheryl & Shane (very happy customers)

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite shower. One room with a bath in the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
0.5 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
0.2 km away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#95 of 152 in Whitby
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#7 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
5.3 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
2.0 km away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Magnolia Guest House Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing