We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What a wonderful week we had. Nether done so much walking. The Mill Cottage is a fantastic base for exploring the North Yorkshire Moors. The owners have done a brilliant job and you want for nothing with respect to the cottage.Will definitely come again. Its what we both needed, time to ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjh151061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very well equipped cottage and idealy placed for walks from home and further afield.
Whitby only ten miles away where all ammenities are to be found, a large sainsburys on the out skirts.
There is a YHA just up the road at Boggle hole which does meals and has a small bar which is very handy.
The owners are very friendly and there if you need them but are not the sort to interfere.
Well worth a visit, will hopefully be back again soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our second stay in Mill Cottage and even the weather cooperated this time around. The location is ideal for those wishing to spend a quiet relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of Whitby and yet still be within easy reach by car, approx. 30 mins. The new Sainburys located just before entering Whitby was a great asset as it meant not having to go to Scarborough to do our main shopping. There are plenty of pleasant walks along the beach or headland around Robin Hoods Bay. The cottage is well equipped with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom has a walk-in shower unit. Nealia made us feel most welcome and it certainly helped us enjoy our stay. Would recommend this self-catering accommodation anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Extremely tranquil and a must for walkers. We had a young baby so walks out with the pram were not very practical but we we went to Filey,Whitby, and Robin Hoods Bay which are all short drives away. The cottage definitely requires some new carpets and kitchen flooring, they were quite old and grubby. BBQ and most kitchen appliances present, well worth a visit. Please be awa no WIFI :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked Stable Cottage for a short break at the start of July and had such a wonderful time we're already planning our return. The owner, Nealia, is a very hospitable and welcoming lady, all communication before we arrived was easy and the whole process was very pleasant. The cottage was beautiful, set on a quiet working farm. Very peaceful area but only a 5 minute walk from the beach (which has a youth hostel serving coffee and food), and about 20 minute from the picturesque village of Robin Hood's Bay. We had our own private garden (BBQ provided), a beautiful well equipped kitchen, very spacious lounge area and the double room had gorgeous sea-view. The cottage is very comfortable, with an excellent balance of modern furnishings and finishes against the traditional feel of the building (to a much higher standard than some of the other cottages we considered!). Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape to the country whilst remaining close enough to civilisation to be able to wander into town when it suits them. I would however agree with the comment below that the clifftop walk to Robin Hood's Bay is up a steep path, be prepared for the walk! Also the steps to the bedrooms in the cottage are narrow and quite steep, possibly not ideal for little ones, and although there is a village shop nearby your closest supermarket is a 20 minute drive away. Still I personally consider the standard of the cottage and it's beautiful location to be well worth the trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pidnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews