We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply perfect”
Review of Dillons of Whitby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dillons of Whitby
Ranked #5 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our first visit to Whitby, and I still can't believe our luck choosing Dillons. We loved the town and the surrounding area, but were completely blown away by Dillons. What a gem! We knew from the moment we arrived that it was in a league of it's own, and loved it on first sight. It has of course completely spoilt us for staying anywhere else when we return. In fact I would go so far as to say we won't return unless we can stay here, so impressed were we by it.
Matt & Craig have really 'hit the spot' with Dillons. It is a credit to them both, and they clearly love what they are doing, ensuring guests enjoy their home & hospitality and have a great experience at Dillons.
We can't wait to return. Our mission is to try each of the 5 different rooms, so that'll be at least 4 more trips to look forward to!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us to such an extent. As you say, there are four more rooms to try out, 3 of which are featured in October's edition of Good Homes magazine just in case you wanted a sneak peak. The thing that we particulalry love about the variety of rooms is that there's something for everyone's taste and budget. And remember, whether it's Toulouse or Manhattan, the same Dillons welcome and hospitality extends to ALL our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
568
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Thank you so much for another lovely stay at Dillons. The hospitality and food were again outstanding. My mother really enjoyed her first visit to Whitby and is looking forward to coming again soon. She loved staying in Masi room with its very comfortable bed. As the weather was so good we did plenty of walking. Mabel, the new member of the Dillons B and B family, was a delight to meet

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that for you as a returning customer as well as you mum as a first timer, Dillons hit the mark. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The room had everything we needed and the little touches really added to our stay. There are a lot of options for breakfast and the food is really good. We also stayed for an evening meal which was reasonably priced and of good quality. Craig and Matthew are very friendly and very informative about events and activities in the local area. It was an absolute pleasure to stay in such a beautiful place - we will certainly return.

Room Tip: All looked great we stayed in Toulouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamLincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your supper with us; there are just some times when it's nice to stay in. It was a pleasure having you stay and we would hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Have stayed many times now at Dillons. The welcome from Mat and Craig is genuine and warm. These are two lovely guys who have put their heart and soul into running Dillons and they do it so well. The rooms, which are beautiful, are always spotlessy clean. Fresh milk, bottled water and home baked biscuits add that extra touch. It's in an ideal position as it takes only a few minutes to walk to the town, beach etc. The delicious breakfasts are cooked by Mat whilst Craig does an excellent job as 'front of house'. We cannot enthuse enough about Dillons....stay here and you will love it as much as we do :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickybell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Dillons of Whitby; we cannot believe how many wonderful guests we have met in this last year. As you know we love our work and get a real buzz out of working to ensure that everyone's stay, whether as a business traveller or holiday maker hits the mark. Come back soon, but until then, all over very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We've just returned from a three night stay at Dillons with our teenage son and what a wonderful place it is! First impressions were excellent, Craig was so welcoming and friendly and Mathew's breakfasts were fabulous. We stayed in Toulouse, a beautiful room, excepionally clean with a stunning bathroom and the most comfortable bed ever! Our son stayed in Masi, another stunning room which he loved. Nothing was too much trouble for Craig and Mathew, they are lovely guys who are obviously passionate about what they do and we can't thank them enough for making our holiday in Whitby so special. Highly recommend Dillons, we will be back soon!! x

Room Tip: Our room was absolutely stunning, at the front with a lovely balcony. It faced the park and there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Many thanks for your review. It is always tremendously rewarding when we know that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are glad that the two rooms you booked, Toulouse and Masi, lived up to expectations and also thrilled that they are to be featured in a national publication in the Autumn, along with other parts of our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons of Whitby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons of Whitby

Property: Dillons of Whitby
Address: 14 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,176 - ₹ 10,408
Hotel Class:5 star — Dillons of Whitby 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dillons, Whitby's only 5 star accredited, Michelin recommended accommodation provider, is the perfect recipe for a successful 21st-century seaside B&B - contemporary elegance and modern convenience with a healthy dose of traditional warmth and hospitality. Overlooking beautiful Pannett Park with its delightful Art Gallery and Museum, Dillons has the added benefit of on-site parking for the majority of guests and secure on-site parking for motorbikes and cycles. A 5 minute walk brings you to the heart of our beautiful and historic seaside town with its mutitude of excellent eateries, bars, cafes and unique shops. As your hosts, Mathew and Craig, we are committed to making your stay memorable. Whether you’re simply looking for a few hassle-free days away, are on business in the area or celebrating a special occasion, we’re happy to chat to you about your individual requirements. Each of our five guest rooms has its own unique theme with decorating inspiration taken from around the globe. All rooms are well proportioned doubles or king size and have a flat-screen television with integrated DVD, an iPod docking station, free wireless internet access and a stylish en suite bathroom with white porcelain fixtures, travertine tiles, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames. At Dillons our award winning breakfast is quite simply 'the most important meal of the day'. Whether you choose to sample the variety of fresh fruits, berries, nuts & seeds and cereals including our famous homemade granola from our buffet or a hot breakfast cooked to order from our menu, we endeavour to cater for your individual requirements catering for special dietary requirements as part of our service. Add to this our seasonal specialities and kippers from Fortunes of Whitby and we are confident that there will be something to tempt you. We take pride in our vegetarian options and source our foods locally where possible using only the freshest ingredients. A multitude of stand out reviews from our wonderful guests coupled with a host of media reviews and feature articles reassure us as owners that the attention to detail, high standards of housekeeping and warmth of hospitality will make your stay at Dillons truly memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillons Of Whitby Hotel Whitby
Dillons Of Whitby North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing