We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly proprietors, great breakfast, room under par.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #84 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly proprietors, great breakfast, room under par.”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is well situated for Whitby town centre, which is only a short walk away. The proprietors are very welcoming and friendly. The B&B is kept nicely and is very clean, though I was unsure about the dog being allowed in the kitchen area. Despite this, I could not fault the breakfast which had a good selection of foods, as well as a vegetarian cooked breakfast option. The coffee was weak and the cafetieres need replacing as there were lots of grounds in the cup.

The room was small and very cold. The heating did not come on until around 6 p.m, despite it being winter, and there was no heating in the en-suite bathroom. The duvets were also too small for the bed which made for a chilly night!

I would recommend this B&B in summer, when heating is not such an issue. Also, if you are over 5ft 2", I would advise against staying on the top floor which have low beams and are rather dangerous.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Wounderful B&B. Food perfect, room lovely. Brilliant place to base yourself and visit a fantastic area. Would and will use again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duggysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montacute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Good location for both the beach and the town. Room very comfortable with sea view. Host and hostess very friendly and helpful. Breakfast first class. Added to our pleasant stay in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Booked B & B based on past reviews and quite agree with previous comments. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, amiable hosts, good location and very nice food. We stayed in room 6, the four poster room which overlooks the church rather than the sea. It was very well appointed, with ensuite shower,hospitality tray, hairdryer etc.
Very good value for money. The hosts could not have been more friendly without being intrusive. When we return would definitely consider again. Free parking available in surrounding streets. Well done Mick and Shiela, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Mick and Sheila were lovely hosts from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 5 which was big and airy with a sea view. It had everything you need for a short break and more - books and cards were provided in your room along with the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Location was great on the north of the bay and you could walk down to the main town in 10 minutes (15 minutes back up the hill). We had dinner on Friday night in Harry's, had lunch on Saturday in Robertsons - Lovely cod/haddock and chips - and Saturday night went to Passage to India - all were excellent.
Whitby was a thoroughly lovely experience and when we go back we will stay at the Middleham.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.5 km away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
347 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
566 reviews
0.1 km away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#27 of 152 in Whitby
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.1 km away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#74 of 152 in Whitby
98 reviews
0.3 km away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#89 of 152 in Whitby
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Property: Middleham Guest House
Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,025 - ₹ 9,653
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middleham Guest House Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing