We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Crown”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #8 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

For us Whitby is the tops and The Leeway is the gem in this wonderful resort! Its hard not to be repetitive with all the superlatives that have been expressed previously, best I can add is to say that they are all accurate and true.
We stayed for a long weekend in the Cook room - the bed was one of the most comfortable I have encountered in any hotel worldwide, and the thought of those gorgeous breakfasts was the only thing that could have dragged me from this comfort every morning!
Nicer, more genuine people than Gary and Karen you will never meet - they are totally committed to their guests needs - larger hotels take note!!
For instance, they quite rightly do not want messy take-aways (not simple snacks) in the bedrooms, but are quite happy to prepare a table for you in the dining room and provide the cutlery/crockery.
Thanks, Gary and Karen, for a wonderful weekend and we hope to see you again soon. This was the most restful break we have had for some considerable time!!

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,378)
There are newer reviews for The Leeway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

854 - 858 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for 1night in april, the idea of our trip was for a night evening meal out and drinks, the only downside was we wish we could of stayed longer! The rooms are very well decorated and modern which was nice for us, and very clean! Breakfast was again brilliant. After reading reviews on here for this guesthouse i then decided this was the place i wanted to stay, eveything was excellent as i excpected and more. Very welcoming and i will definatley be coming again on future stays in whitby:)
Thankyou x

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for a second time and was just as good as the first. Warm and enthusiastic welcome. Comfortable room and brilliant breakfasts. We were also helped out with the tide times so we didn't get our feet wet walking to Sandsend on the beach. If back in Whitby will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmj4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is our first visit to the Leeway...won't be our last. Having read the reviews about the place and looking at the website prior to our stay, we were looking forward to it very much and were not dissapointed! We were met by Garry, our very accommodating host, and were offered tea and home made chocolate cake on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are absolutely superb - spacious, comfortable and decorated to a very high contemporary standard with little touches here and there that ensure this B & B beats all others. We loved breakfast as the choices on the menu were terrific with daily specials included. I would not hesitate to recommend 'The Leeway' to anyone and cannot wait to return soon!

Room Tip: Request the 'Stoker' room if you would like a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great hosts, lovely room and simply a pleasure to stay. I don't think the photos on the website do the rooms justice. We went on spec and weren't disappointed. Felt very welcome and nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.8 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.4 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#11 of 151 in Whitby
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: ₹ 5,586 - ₹ 6,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby
The Leeway Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing