We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Guest House with the feel of a 4*Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lansbury Guest House
Ranked #138 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Guest House with the feel of a 4*Hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Absolutely delighted with our stay at the Lansbury. Very helpful proprieters, spotless rooms, lovely breakfast. Nothing too much trouble for Gill and her staff. Very welcoming and homely atmosphere. We would have stayed on for longer, but they are fully booked. Super People, Super food, Super comfortable and Super clean. We will certainly be sdtaying here again, and will also recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor kingsized bed with ample shower space and delightful furnishings. TV with Freeview. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The guest house has been recently refurbished to a very high standard. The breakfasts offered plenty of choice, we particularly liked the fresh fruit and smoked haddock on offer. It is in a good location but you might have to look round the corner for a parking place. Not sure it is the best place for a family with young children though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I had originally booked a three night stay but it was so lovely we stayed an extra three nights.The Lansbury is spotless. Lots of care and thought has been put into this guest house.The breakfast is from 08.15 to 09.15 and we were never made to feel rushed. We had the full English every day but there are other choices providing you order in advance.Jill the landlady is very friendly and full of local knowledge. Our room was a standard double. It was spacious and spotless with a comfy bed and fluffy towels. The only down side was we had 49 stairs to climb to get to our room.This did not detract from the space in the room it just made getting to bed a bit of an effort at the end of the day.The Landsbury is near enough to the shops but in a quiet residential area. Parking is on street and we always found a space to park somewhere on the street.We would recommend this guest house to anyone but when we were there it was mainly full of older couples. Next time we are in Whitby we will certainly go to the Lansbury again.

Room Tip: If you don't like too many steps ask for a room that's not in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A relaxing break accompanied by good food,good service and an excellent room.Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy2tates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed with a group of friends together in this B&B. The furnishings are a tad dated, but overall every room was good size, clean and well appointed. You can't fault the rooms, especially at the price.

However, the breakfast was not their strong point. I think this might just be a veggie thing, as all our meat eater friends seemed content. I would have much preferred veggie sausage, eggs and beans over the cauliflower cheese bake I got.

The B&B landlady seemed very stressed through the breakfast, and would remove my juice glass before I had a chance to refill. She then removed much of the buffet items, which made us feel unwelcome (even though we arrived during the time she said the breakfast was open).

But enough about the breakfast. The rest of the stay was really nice, and worth it for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.8 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.1 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#111 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#63 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 km away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansbury Guest House

Property: The Lansbury Guest House
Address: 29 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lansbury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run B&B based on the west cliff of Whitby. We aim to make your stay here a pleasant one. Voted best customer service award by the moors and coast and Whitby Hospitality Association 2008. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lansbury Guest House Hotel Whitby
The Lansbury Guest House Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing