We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST DIGS IN TOWN”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Area
Dining Area
View of St Mary's Church & The Abbey
Complimetary Tray
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
En Suite
En Suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
swebco
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST DIGS IN TOWN”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Spent another great weekend at number 2 The langdale. Dottie came back with us to enjoy the delights of a Goth weekend and has already asked if she could come back next year for the early get together. Rays place is in an ideal position for sampling Whitbys delights. His home made cake seems to get better each year. Thanks again Ray for your hospitality

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location, plus everything else.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBillies
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay on the west side”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a 3 day break in Whitby for our wedding anniversary. We were met by Ray who had arranged a parking permit for us. He showed us around the apartment. We were delighted by his thoughtfulness, providing homemade cake and even milk for our first cuppa. The apartment is excellently appointed, the kitchen has all you could want. The television controls were a challenge but we always managed in the end. We would definitely recommend this apartment and Ray for providing a home from home. Then there are the gadgets ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thanks for the great review, we now have a different satelite receiver, which is a lot easier to use, if anyone want's to enquire about the apartment, could you please leave it until the 22nd of November, i won't be able to answer until then, and if i don't reply it affects my triadvisor response time.
Thanks
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBXxxxx
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great stay. Really good location. Lovely place to stay. Very clean and has everything you need. Could park right outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevmulli
Leeds, Yorkshire,UK.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Whitby in Autumn”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed at No2 for the first time. Everything about the place was as per other reviews.... Ray meets you immediately with his infectious smile and friendliness, offering you a lovely greeting, indeed there is even a couple of slices of cake to assist making you feel your welcome. Along with a small jug of milk in the fridge, along with a coffee and tea welcome tray to get you past the first cuppa or too!
The apartment is spotless and offers you a lovely vantage point of the Abbey and church upon the south cliff, down the adjacent street. Kitchen has everything to hand to ensure you can if you wish be self catering during your stay. It accommodated our breakfasts and an evening meal during our stay.

The parking outside is in the parking zone area, but even here, Ray is on hand to help you with a scratch zone card for the duration of your stay, only thing is, it cannot guarantee a spot right outside the apartment door. But during our 4 days here, we were within 20 yes most of the time, with only 1 night car parked 100mtrs down the street. Small price to pay, but in all not a problem.

The entrance are to the building is a little gloomy, but there is a couple of full term residents in the building, the entrance hall just misses the polish of the flat.

My only gripe, which is possibly that it didn't suit me. Is, that the bed was very soft, which normally is not a problem for me, but the bed was rather low, soft and for me, unsupportive. Which did give me a discomfort of a back ache I had for a good few days after....
But that could just be me!..other reviews appear not to have a problem with the bed.

The accomodation offers a security safe and free wifi, which are both big pluses.

Flat 2 offers great views as review above, but the price is 4 good flights of stairs for older couples to negotiate.

Would I recommend Ray's apartment @ #2.....? Yes I would, very good value.
Would I return ?.....yes most likely, though I would prefer a better bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the apartment and view.
Liked least: The bed.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic123And...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spotless apartment with everything you could wish for. The views are fab, the locality is perfect and Ray is the perfect host. This is the 5th time I've stayed in one of Rays holiday let's and always enjoy. Two more already booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing