We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome way to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little House

Little House
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 44
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An awesome way to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The meal was absolutely fantastic, the setting warm and the service from the owners Andrew & veronica made us feel extremely welcome. The choices for each course were mind boggling with a number of mouth watering options. Mussels in garlic and goats cheese tart started off the feast followed by the locally sourced lamb & fresh swordfish which were cooked to perfection and were complimented by roasted potatoes & seasonal vegetables making a lovely all round main course. I was torn between the bananna covered in toffee and the mini sticky berry pudding - the berry pudding won. My mrs had capachio of pineapple with pomegranate & champagne sorbet. A lovely bottle of red helped wash it all down followed by coffee liqueurs with chess & biscuits. It was truly fantastic - if you are ever in the Dales make a detour to the Little House and you will not be disappointed !!!!!!l

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Setnsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic - go at least once a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We first went to the little house restaurant 8 years ago, and have been going back at ,east once a month since.

The food is fantastic, and sourced locally, the menu changes monthly so is very seasonal. There is a superb wine list to accompany the menu.

The ambience is great, and the owners (andrew& Veronica) can't do enough for you.

It is always the 1st restaurant we recommend in settle and is perfect for every occasion.

I suggest that you check out their website for the menu and for themed nights I.e French food night - these are always good value for money & a great way to sample the cuisine of these countries.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank redders2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ALMOST PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have been to Little House many timesand have never had cause for complaint.The menu is varried and the wine list small but all very tasty and not over expensive. The portions are just the right amount for us, so we can normaly eat 3 courses plus tea and petit feurs (very nice home made I think), without comming away moaning and groaning about feeling bloated and uncomfortable. The music is just the right volume to be able to talk. The service is good not too overbearing. we had christmas day lunch there last year,I would probably have prefered to dine a little later, maybe 1 o clock but we had a wonderful meal none the less. Hope to be back very soon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor
2 reviews
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This place is charming. The food was lovely, the service was very friendly and professional, not bad prices, lovely restrained decor, definitely worthwhile.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmac246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a little gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were in Settle to take part in the Jane Tomlinson 'Walk For All' and on the night prior to the event booked a table. The food was excellent, a reasonable wine list and a convivial host. We finished the 14 miler the next day, got dried out and cleaned up before limping into town for a meal. After a moments hesitation we plumped for the 'Little House' again ! After a warm welcome we again enjoyed a superb meal which was very welcome after our exertions. I have read the other comments and cannot for the life of me find fault with this little gem.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little House also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Little House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing