We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gothic House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wensum Guest House(Norwich)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$ 132
US$ 128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stower Grange(Drayton)
US$ 159
US$ 155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
163
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
11
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsblack catowner cliveprivate parkingkings headdouble roomenjoyed our staythe publovely housebed breakfastfew minutes walkb and byogurtkhmercathedralcomfortaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015

What a wonderful Bed & Breakfast, with beautiful surroundings, atmosphere and decor, set in an idyllic court yard just minutes from Norwich City Centre and the historical marvels on offer there.
A historical marvel in its own right, It is worth a visit to Norwich just to experience the The Gothic House with its wonderful atmosphere and the hospitality of your host, Clive.

Room Tip: Either of the two available rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothichouse, Owner at Gothic House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Wow!!! Thank you. You are very kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

My wife and I stayed at Gothic House for three nights and definitely concur with all the good things previous reviewers have mentioned. Clive is friendly and helpful, the location is convenient (and not noisy at all, which was slightly surprising as it is set back behind a busy road and a pub), the rooms are comfortable, and there is secure parking. When we return to Norwich, we won't bother looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, a double on the 1st floor and a twin on the 2nd. Each room has a private bathroom on the 1st floor.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The_Smallest_Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Clive is a wonderful host and extremely welcoming. Our room (the double) was very prettily decorated and the bed was very comfortable, everything you might need available - complimentary sherry too! We would have no hesitation in recommending the Gothic House, but worry it might be fully booked next time we want to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 612helaineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I stayed in the twin room. Although not adviertised for families (just one double and 1 twin room in the property), the owner Clive was happy to accomadate myself and my (nearly) 9yr old son. The house is in a fabulous location within close walking distance of the catheral and city centre. As you might expect, it's not the quitest location, but the beds are extremely comfortable (4' singles). The decor is stunning. What is also outstanding about this B&B is the level of attention too detail provided by the owner - sherry and water in the room, a fruit bowl, quality biscuits and to top it all, real (ground cafetière) coffee! Breakfast was a delight! Freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade bread, real coffee, and the most delicious bacon I have ever tasted (plus the rest of the usual extras all cooked to perfection). You couldn't really ask for more.

Room Tip: The twin room faces the front (street), the double room faces the back (coutyard)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nickye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothichouse, Owner at Gothic House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Gothic House.
I'm sorry that it was not as quiet here as you might have liked. Most guests are surprised at just how quiet it is, especially for a city centre location. As for me accommodating children; as a general rule I do not. Soon I hope to have a new website for Gothic House and I will need to make this clearer as the house is not really particularly child-friendly. Thanks again for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Gothic house is tucked away in the heart of the old town of Norwich: you can walk easily to the cathedral and surrounding area and there is a vibrant, bustling community of good dining establishments and gastro pubs. The house is beautifully decorated and enhances the period features of the property; there is private gated parking for cars. Host and owner, Clive, attends to his guest with impeccable detail - he strikes the perfect balance of being attentive but not intrusive. The beds are extremely comfortable, each room is well appointed and decorated. There is a bathroom separate to the room, but quite private for which white toweling robes are provided. There are many small, important details found throughout that often lack elsewhere: cotton buds in the bathrooms, water decanter and glass by each bedside, fresh cookies and fruit with real coffee and tea in each room, much information available for Norwich and surrounding area, etc. There is a small, nice pub near by the property but the property is gated off; you will get some low level noise from patrons of such but the pub closes early (even on a Saturday night) and the noise is far less than you'd experience at most city locations. I don't expect the city to be as quiet as the country; Gothic house's set back location really minimises noise without sacrificing location. The breakfast table was set in stunning detail and the food was good. Gothic house affords a great base to see the city in comfort, with a host who is able to help guide your stay if you wish. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are on 2nd and 3rd floors; my mother was able to handle the steps with ease but contact the owner if stairs concern you.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tea-and-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews