We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mothers Day treat!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My mother and I visited the hotel today for a massage and afternoon tea as a mothers day treat. The spa, reception and restaurant staff made our afternoon exceptionally enjoyable! From the moment we arrived, we were treated amazingly, nothing was too much trouble. I am now looking for an excuse to come back for another visit!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
It is great to see customers combining use of our Hotel ila Spa with our Lounge & Bar to really experience the true relaxtion on offer here at St Giles House! Im glad your Mum enjoyed the pampering!

Hope to see you back soon, many thanks for your feedback

Kind regards

Jenna Richards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    183
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
71
348
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Upon our arrival we got the last space in the car park at 3pm, check in was smooth, room was clean but did not have a bath, I immediatly rang reception to see if we could change rooms to one with a bath, but they were all booked and had checked in all ready. We ate in the restaurant that evening and were sat looking onto the bar where a group of about 8 people had gathered for drinks, this spoilt the ambiance of our romantic meal for 2. Food was very well presented however for the price they charge there are better places to eat within Norwich. To sum up- great for being centrally located and if away on buisness, but if you want that intamacy and romance maybe try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

St Giles is a centrally located hotel full of character. Check in was swift and easy.
Generally we found the staff to be friendly and helpful with a couple of exceptions but you will find that anywhere.
The rooms were comfortable although there does seem to be a big variation in bathroom size, ours having only a w/c and shower. If you need a bath make sure you request one, you should be rewarded with a stunning freestanding tub.
One thing which is always important and not enough hotels get right though is the shower. I can honestly say this was one of the best showers I have used, very powerful.
Food and drink was good with a nice breakfast.
Unfortunately a few poor points which have been mentinoed before ~ Our bathroom had a bad smell of the drains permeating, reception was unmanned when calling down at only 8.30pm and the hotel is noisy not only from internal noise but also voices, cars etc from any room facing the main street, even with secondary double glazing.
I would stay here again but would hope for slightly better but on the whole not bad.

Room Tip: Dont take a room that overlooks the main road ~ Far too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my wife. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival and showed us to our room,we had been given an upgrade and we were in one of the suites.The room was lovely with the old fashioned bathroom and massive shower. the hotel was spotless the food in both the resturant and at breakfast was lovely. The staff were helpul and polite.A lovely hotel that i would stay in again and reccomend to friends. The only one little niggle was that there was no clock in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Whilst working on a large project for my company; I stayed at the St Giles 3 nights per week for around 2 years.
This is a small (ish) boutique hotel with approx 24 rooms –
The hotel is a listed building with the rooms at the front being in the listed part of the hotel – these room are very spacious and (some may say) elegant, with chandeliers, fire places, parquet flooring, and traditional bathrooms.
At the rear of the hotel are more modern type rooms, which have more of a bedroom feel than a typical sterile hotel room, the bedrooms and bathrooms in all are a good size and are decorated to a high standard.
All rooms are individual and even-though numbered, each room is named (e.g. Marianne Twinette suite etc)
The restaurant and food is of a high standard, and the staff are very friendly and in particular Frank the restaurant manager who always had time for a chat (shame about his team Arsenal though  - I’m a Liverpool fan so enough said !!).
The receptionists are also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you like tradition go for a room in the listed part of the hotel - however, alll rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5TIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
9.3 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,116 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
206 reviews
5.2 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,514 - ₹ 12,383
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing