We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, great caravan, great holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashgate House

updated June 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
updated June 2016
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
updated June 2016
our house
view from caravan window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LisaBlade...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great caravan, great holiday!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Jane and Ray were really nice, they helped us with whatever we needed. Their dog Joey was very sweet! Trampoline outside the caravan was great for our 10 year old. Nice location - easy to travel around Norfolk and visit popular tourist sites. The caravan was spacious and comfortable.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunnyhop1...
1 review
“Great friendly place to stay ..”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here mon/ fri with my partner and 3 young children .. Jane & Ray was perfect hosts , nothing was too much trouble at all . Very clean inside and has a swing / trampoline outside on garden to keep little ones happy for 10mins whilst you get sorted . Joey was lovely , my kids loved him . The caravan had everything you needed , would recommend to anyone , we are intending to go back near Christmas as we was visiting family / exploring Norfolk . ( Dinosaur Adventure ) is brill . Thanks again we had a great week here ..
Lavinia & Paul x ( Mansfield )

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nessiefan
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely home from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My brother and his wife, my partner and I stayed in the caravan this August. A very warm welcome from Jane and Ray and lovely dog! Very comfortable and everything we needed. The location is excellent being near Norwich, the Broads and other places of interest. Thank you!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyStaff...
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing week in Norfolk”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I and our young son enjoyed a very relaxing week in Norfolk exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside and beaches and the super city of Norwich. Ashgate house is great if you are looking for a basic budget holiday base. The static home is very dated and is ageing as mentioned in a previous review. It is very basic and cramped but had everything we needed and is set in lovely countryside close to Hethersett village with a tesco metro and fish and chip shop and all the amenities you require. There is a big trampoline in the grounds that our son enjoyed and the caravan is situated in its own private area adjacent to the owners house. There is also now another new Two bedroom modern static home available to rent which would have been our preferred option if it had been available. Jane and Ray are very friendly and welcoming and hospitable and nothing is too much trouble and they were very helpful and they along with their gorgeous dog Joey who greeted us like long lost friends every day made the holiday. If you are looking for a no frills budget holiday this is great for you as a base to explore Norfolk. I would recommend its best for couples or families with young children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornblowe...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely caravan in a rural location”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at Ashgate house for five days with my partner and her daughter. The caravan was lovely and clean. It was ideally situated in a field close to the main house. Nothing was too much trouble and Jane was a very pleasant and helpful host.
The only thing missing was a teapot (my partner will only drink tea brewed properly!) and on commenting to Jane a teapot was immediately located.
Very well situated close to Norwich, Wymondham and the coast with good local restaurants and pubs. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing