We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We used the Nelson as a base for the Nescafe's Golf Society spring golf weekend. Rooms were large, clean and well equipped. We were booked on a B&B and enjoyed a good breakfast each morning. The hotel is in a good location so we didn't need to go far for food and drink. The hotel also has a good bar and restaurant with good friendly and helpful staff. We will return, excellent value and we managed to avoid Lenny Henry and the Yellow Ducks....phew!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    612
    130
    33
    22
See reviews for
335
652
104
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here on a friday saturday night and we had a great time!! The hotel is in a great location and also has a free car park which was a bonus!. I can understand why some people say that they often had a distrurbed nights sleep as it did seem to get rather lively on a weekend, however we were at the back of the hotel over the carpark and couldn't really here anything. The resturant joined on is lovely we had steak and it was cooked to perfection and the staff in thier were lovely on hand if you needed anything but not constantly asking is everything ok just as you take a bite!!. The hotel is very premier in but as i said in a lovely place and freindly staff. We will definatley stop again and have already recommended it to other people.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the garden with a balcony looked nice although we were not lucky enought to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmb1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Access for those not arriving by car (maybe at the railway station just across the road) is difficult and badly signposted. You need to walk right round the hotel to find the entrance - a bit of a nuisance when carrying luggage and there is no actual foot path so you are walking in the car park.

The room was cold - even with the heating turned up beyond my normal setting.

The layout of the breakfast room was fragmented and tables were so close together it was difficult to move around. There did not seem to be enough staff to operate properly. There were no eggs and a queue waiting for more.

There was only one set of towels in a double room.

The decor appeared to be trying to be up market but the actual facilities did not achieve the same standard.

Not as good as some Premier Inns I've stayed at. At £29 a room - adequate. At the £80 or £90 we actually paid poor value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhw2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by our Customer Services Team and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a well run hotel, that doesnt pretend to be anyhing other than a basic hotel. Room was very clean, comfortable bed, and very friendly and helpful staff. I had a room overlookig the carpark, which was quiet for my midweek stay - it may be noisier at the weekend.
Very convenient position for railway station and town centre

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashiraboppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Once I found the entrance to this place, it was very nice! If you are coming from the station, the entrance is completely hidden, and took me about 20 minutes to find! I didn't feel quite so stupid because there was another American lady wandering around who couldn't find it either. Basically, you have to walk right past the hotel, past the job centre, then turn left into the carpark and walk through to reception. I think you can probably get into the hotel by turning left just before and going in through the Table Table, but the metal stairs looked a bit wobbly, and the American girl told me she had already tried that.
Room was comfortable, if a little cold. I kept turning the heating on, and it kept defaulting to cold, but once I was tucked up in bed it was fine.
Standard Premier Inn stuff, but OK if you need someone near the station in Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinotnoirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.0 km away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,367 - ₹ 8,509
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing