We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first visit!”

Soyokaze Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 791 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Absolutely loved our visit here. We managed to get a late table on a Friday night as only booked few days before and the food and service was incredible and so reasonably priced, thank you so much!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank KylaMae5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

There are only two places to get Japanese food in Norwich, Soyokaze and Shiki. It's really a fantastic traditional experience and is the best Japanese food we've had outside of Japan. It's flavourful and cooked to perfection, it's reasonably priced and the staff are fantastic. Some recommendations for you to try are the Agedashi Tofu which is just incredibly good, the volcano rolls, and the takoyaki which tastes just as good as the ones in Osaka.

While we were in Kyoto we did a traditional Tempura cooking experience and Soyokaze are as close to that as we've found, very light, very thin layer which adds a lovely flavour without taking away from the vegetables or fish.

Eaten here maybe 10 times and it never fails to deliver.

Date of visit: July 2020
3  Thank DavidWNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020

We really love Soyokaze - the food is fantastic. We had another takeaway last weekend and I have to say that unlike some takeaways, the quality of the food doesn’t change. It’s a delight to eat it - the sashimi & spicy rolls are great, as is the Wakame salad and the Agadashi Tofu. If you haven’t been yet, please do visit or have a takeaway. Hamit and his team are very amicable & always welcoming. Please support these small independent restaurants during this difficult time! PS Trip Advisor says they are the 68th best restaurant in Norwich - this is nonsense - they are at least in the top 5-10 best restaurants in Norwich!

Date of visit: December 2020
3  Thank RachelinNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

I’ve never been to a proper sushi restaurant before and I was definitely not disappointed! We didn’t initially book being at lunch time but because it was during the half term it was very busy. We managed to come back 1/2hr later for a table.
We had a nice selection of vegetarian, chicken and fish sushis with some Japanese beers. They were all freshly prepared and tasted amazing!!
The staff was very nice and professional.
Definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Anaick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Called in for lunch and had a platter of sushi along with some volcano rolls and a cocktail.

The sushi was very good but the volcano rolls were fantastic so much so we had to order another portion.

The plum wine cocktail was also delicious.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank joshwW9411JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soyokaze Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Soyokaze Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.