We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
283
157
52
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
157
52
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park shopping centre third floor middle of town large shower central location hi express free breakfast direct access easy parking per day modern hotel good size bars and restaurants breakfast was buffet style beans excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean, huge and powerful shower, good fresh breakfast buffet with a thoughtful option to take away for those in a rush, which is usually me.

Hotel is right in the city centre which gives a Choice of bars and restaurants, but still quiet enough even on a Saturday night.

Only negative for me was the fact that parking costs £5 a night, which is discounted from full price, but this wasn’t mentioned on the booking, but this is a minor point

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank craigg164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear craigg164,

Thank you for your review, great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the charge for the car part, with our central location, we are lucky to have space within the Cleveland Shopping Centre car park but, unfortunately, it does come at a cost.

Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

On first visiting the holiday in Express I have been shown courtesy and professionalism in the Highest aptitude. Soon as you walk in you are treated with love care and respect and made to feel right at home. Being a night owl the lads at night Damien,David and Terence take great re in there roll to look after there guests every need. I have never been in hotel where the staff have been so friendly and respectful. I would choose this place any day over any 5 star hotel purely of how the staff treat me. I call the holiday inn express home away from home. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling too Middlesbrough.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank SL878772653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear SL878772653,

Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind words on to the nights team and use your review in future team meetings and is outlines the service we strive to give at the Holiday Inn Express.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Nick Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Stayed for 2 nights
Nice clean room
Very helpful and friendly staff
Morning breakfast more than satisfactory
Special mention for receptionist Catherine for excellent service with a smile and going the extra mile
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank duf2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear duf2018,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I'm so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your positive comments on to Kathryn.

Hopefully we'll welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We stopped at the Holiday inn for 1 night while visiting family in Middlesbrough, The room was spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable and the spare bed was also large and comfortable, the tv was great quality, the bathroom was clean as was the room, the free breakfast was great also! The bar is 24 hours , it's in a great location attached the the shopping centre which is very convenient...we had a great view over the Arts institute...We would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lola1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Lola1113,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. Great to read how much you enjoyed staying and that you made use of the 24 hour bar! I am pleased that you appreciated the view from one of our front facing rooms and that you were impressed by our housekeeping standards, i'll pass your good feedback on to the team.

Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to the area.

Best regards,
Nick Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Travelled up from Derbyshire to watch Middlesbrough FC v Sunderland in the FA Cup. There were 6 of us so we booked 3 rooms. From the moment we arrived, we knew it was going to be a great stay. The two ladies on reception; Jasmine and I can’t remember the other ladies name sorry, were so friendly and helpful. We felt welcome straight away.

We arrived at 10am and were pleasantly surprised to find our rooms were ready.

The rooms were clean modern and reasonably spacious.

The food was excellent we had a snack of wings of fire, which were very good on the evening and also an excellent breakfast on the Sunday morning.

The hotel is very well located, close to the town centre and the excellent pubs in Baker Street.

I would also recommend the Massala Indian restaurant on Borough road, 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel bar is open 24/7, so we were able to have a night cap or two when we got back to the hotel. Bar prices are also very reasonable.

Car parking is £5 for 24 hours.

All in all a first class stay and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The icing on the cake; Boro won 2-0.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank BillBrysonDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear BillBrysonDerbyshire,

Thank you for your positive review, I will pass on your praise to Jasmine and the team. Great to read that you enjoyed eating in our bar area and that all aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Price
General Manager
HIEX Middlesbrough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews