We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gower House Hotel”
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #624 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We booked a standard double room with private bathroom. Room was basic but spotless with well appointed bathroom, shower etc which was equally spotless. Bed was comfortable, but be aware breakfast is basic, serve yourself cerials and a selection of rolls and pastries. Our room was in the basement and had frosted glass windows, mabe not for the claustrophobic. Overall a good overnight venue, but for a holiday, mabe something classier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

It's a cheap price, basic and clean room.
Nice staff.
Decent breakfast.
We're a pretty easy please couple, we wouldn't recommened it to those that are use fancy hotels.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, plus so central to everything eg Tottenham Court, Oxford Circus....

Room Tip: We had a roadside room and didn't even have a problem with traffic noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumbleTrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel as we had a wedding to attend. It was in a terrible state and the toilet was stained and didnt look like it had seen any bleach or toilet cleaner in years. The sheets were clean and it was a central location, but that is the only good thing about it, this hotel is not really a good advert for London accomodation during Olympics. I was appalled!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lukes109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

excellant location,small family run place , clean & welcoming, friendly staff,nothing was to much trouble for them.Yes, decor was a bit dated but....did I come here to look at the furnishings?.....no I didnt, I wanted a small hotel in central london that was in a good location, for theatreland etc, clean, comfortable & value for money. This is what I got, thank you, me n Hubby had a lovely time, would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7, no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatnAlecHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Very nice staff. i liked staying there. it is very good located. very central and great for Soho, Oxford Street and British museum. it is budget place, simple, but very clean and better then other more expensive hotels in central London. would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#552 of 1,081 in London
373 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#790 of 1,081 in London
57 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,081 in London
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,295 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#574 of 1,081 in London
810 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#493 of 1,081 in London
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #624 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,382 - ₹ 15,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing