We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gower House Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #631 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gower House Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We booked a standard double room with private bathroom. Room was basic but spotless with well appointed bathroom, shower etc which was equally spotless. Bed was comfortable, but be aware breakfast is basic, serve yourself cerials and a selection of rolls and pastries. Our room was in the basement and had frosted glass windows, mabe not for the claustrophobic. Overall a good overnight venue, but for a holiday, mabe something classier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    86
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
54
69
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

It's a cheap price, basic and clean room.
Nice staff.
Decent breakfast.
We're a pretty easy please couple, we wouldn't recommened it to those that are use fancy hotels.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, plus so central to everything eg Tottenham Court, Oxford Circus....

Room Tip: We had a roadside room and didn't even have a problem with traffic noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BumbleTrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel as we had a wedding to attend. It was in a terrible state and the toilet was stained and didnt look like it had seen any bleach or toilet cleaner in years. The sheets were clean and it was a central location, but that is the only good thing about it, this hotel is not really a good advert for London accomodation during Olympics. I was appalled!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lukes109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

newark on trent nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

excellant location,small family run place , clean & welcoming, friendly staff,nothing was to much trouble for them.Yes, decor was a bit dated but....did I come here to look at the furnishings?.....no I didnt, I wanted a small hotel in central london that was in a good location, for theatreland etc, clean, comfortable & value for money. This is what I got, thank you, me n Hubby had a lovely time, would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7, no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatnAlecHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Very nice staff. i liked staying there. it is very good located. very central and great for Soho, Oxford Street and British museum. it is budget place, simple, but very clean and better then other more expensive hotels in central London. would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#551 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#753 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#537 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#98 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#510 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Property: Gower House Hotel
Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #631 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,599 - ₹ 13,363
Hotel Class:2 star — Gower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing