We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Siam CENTRAL

Siam CENTRAL
Ranked #2,445 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Heavenly thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Good value, excellent Thai Food on the ever trendy Charlotte Street. Ingedients are fresh and the beer is chilled. What more do you need :) the tempura vegetables are fab. The staff are a bit brisk and the place a bit tight on space, but the food cannot be faulted.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank London09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    90
    22
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great find in Charlotte Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We came accross this restaurant by chance when looking for somewhere to eat after drinks in the Charlotte Street hotel. I wish I had read the reviews beforehand, I wasn't sure when we went in but the fact it was busy gave us confidence that it would be ok. Food was superb and quick despite a few big tables in. Great value. We would definately return.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SarahJT325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value, especially for the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant based on TA recommendations, and wholly agree with what everyone has been saying.

Initially, it is a bit small and pokey, but this didn't matter at all as once the food comes out you forget anything else. The service was ok, they wont win any awards for it though and we found we were calling over the staff for drinks and the bill rather than being asked. But the food arrived very quickly after ordering, and was superb.

We had the mixed tapas starter for two, which all seemed to be homemade rather than the generic mass produced stuff you get in most restaurants these days. I had a curry and sticky rice which were fantastic, and my partner had the drunken noodles which she enjoyed but they were a little on the heated side.

All in all, it's an outstanding little restaurant bang in the middle of London. And the whole meal and drinks (including a pint of Thai beer for £5) only came to £38. We'll definitely be going again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Thai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The service could use a little improvement, however the food was delicious, this coming from a true Southeast Asian obsessed with Thai cuisine.

The Tom Yum soup was not bad, neither was it great.
Their Pineapple Fried Rice, Pad Thai and Duck with Plum Sauce are a few of my favourites. In conclusion, this place is a go for affordable Thai.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank geographile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I went here with friends when another reservation fell through. We wandered in after looking at the menu, and I'm very happy we did. The noodles I had were expertly prepared: flavourful, spicy without melting my fillings, full of nicely cooked meat and veg, and brought to the table very quickly and absolutely roaring hot from the pan. Uniquely, the prawn crackers here taste of prawn and not packing material, as is so often the case. The 'Thai tapas' menu looked interesting, but went untried by our group on this occasion.

Don't expect to linger after your meal...we were shooed out fairly quickly. It's a place to get a quick meal before heading elsewhere, but it's an excellent quick meal. London would be the better for having more places like this.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBWilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam CENTRAL also viewed

 

Been to Siam CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing