We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back! A more than satisfied Irish visitor.”
Review of LSE Passfield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Passfield Hall
Ranked #93 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Passfield Hall from April 2nd - 5th, and certainly look forward to returning in the not too distant future. Why?
- fantastic value for such an excellent location
- staff friendly, courteous and helpful,
even graciously forwarding items I left behind.
- clean comfortable room ( checked and cleaned every day)
- quiet location
- great breakfast
- free tea making facilities and use of iron

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceithlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for you lovely feedback, and kind comments about the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Passfield Hall will not become my favourite London stopover - this place is occupied by Northumberland House, also an LSE dorm - but it is a most decent one.

The location is good: one bus stop from Russel Square, where you can easily get from Heathrow by Piccadilly line without changes, and a few minutes on foot from Euston Square, from which you can get almost anywhere by Circle Line. It is also within an easy walk from Holborn, West End and Soho, and a bus can take you to Trafalgar Square in minutes. Bloomsbury is quite a delightful district itself; there's a huge Waitrose supermarket nearby and a great Waterstone's bookshop just a few minutes walk from the Hall.

My room was tiny - and I mean "tiny", not "small". A wardrobe, a desk, a bed and a washbasin left almost no space for myself. Well, I didn't come to London to stay in the room. Trouble is, it also overlooked the street (it was directly above the entrance, to be precise), and although there was almost no traffic at night, a lot of people talked by the entrance. It was also situated right opposite the stairs, which, combined with the fact that the bathrooms where shared, made it quite noisy. The window could be opened only a little - some safety rules, as usual - but even when it was completely closed, one could feel cold air coming through the crevice under the window. I didn't mind it in the spring, I would have minded very much in winter.

The place could be cleaner - I don't expect much, mind you, but the shared bathrooms, toilets in particular, could be improved. They weren't exactly dirty and disgusting, but I had a feeling they weren't cleaned often enough.

Breakfast was decent, with the choice of 6 items I knew from another LSE dorm, Bankside House. I particularly enjoyed the waffle/pancake option and the maple syrup as an addition to the traditional English breakfast, fruit and cereal.

The staff was ok - they let me check in a little ealry and leave my luggage after check out (don't leave any valuables in the left luggage, though - anyoye could come and take it, I feel).

Overall, Passfield House, while not my favourite London dorm, is worth recommending as an inexpensive place in a nice district available not only in summer, but also during Spring Holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Er_the_witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Your candid and constructive feedback is really helpful and we’re glad that on the whole you found your stay satisfactory. Noise is sometimes an issue in but if you let the front desk know we will investigate and try to resolve it immediately – we really do appreciate there is nothing worse than being woken up in the middle of the night! We’ll get the maintenance officer to have a look at the windows above the main entrance, whilst the building is listed and we have to keep the single glazed sash windows they should not be draughty. The communal facilities are meant be cleaned at least daily and are normally kept to a very high standard so we’ll ask the Housekeeper to investigate what happened here. We have kept a left luggage facility in our residences, although as you say we do advise guests not to leave valuables in there because whilst the key is issued at reception, it is available to all guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I went to London as a group of 4 and stayed here in two twins for the night and it was perfect! The service was friendly and helpful, especially for clueless 18 year olds, the rooms were big and spacious, very light and the toilet facilities were adequate (I'm told the shower is good too). It was also surprisingly peaceful for so close to the centre of London, so sleep was great on comfy beds. The breakfast was amazingly huge, didn't manage to finish with full English, unlimited toast and tea, but the best part of this place is the location, 5 minute walk from Euston meaning you can get anywhere quickly. There are lovely, affordable restaurants nearby and you are a short tube ride from...well everything! :D
Oh and they have a luggage room so you can leave your things there instead of dragging them around London so you can go home that night! Fab!
Would highly recommend and will definitely use this next time I do a trip like this!

Room Tip: FYI some floors don't have toilets so you'll have to hunt around - ground floor and middle f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRUSHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback, we’re really pleased that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at pass field hall last week with my daughter. We stayed two nights and cannot fault accommodation,Staff or facilities. This is the third time I have stayed with LSE twice at Holborn and now at pass field. It's only a shame it isn't open at other times of the year or I would be a more regular visitor. Well done LSE for making London more accessible as a short visit destination. 5 stars

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daggersdrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hostel type accommodation with very clean rooms and with everything you need just few steps on the same floor. No free wifi internet. Remember that rooms are in old building so you can hear many things - from shower to street life... Breakfast is varied and very tasty - great start for long day! We used train from Luton Airport (chance to get many of 2for1 sites with National Rails) and hotel is about 10 minutes walk from St. Pancras International. 24/7 store is about 5 minutes walk on Russell Square. Many of eating places are on Euston Station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Czech81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased to announce that we’re hoping to run a pilot WiFi scheme this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#681 of 1,077 in London
176 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#465 of 1,077 in London
533 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#599 of 1,077 in London
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#72 of 930 in London
255 reviews
Westminster
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
#186 of 930 in London
277 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Passfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Passfield Hall

Address: Passfield Hall 1-7 Endsleigh Place, London WC1H 0PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 3,933 - ₹ 7,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LSE Passfield Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passfield Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in Bloomsbury. The hall boasts a unique mix of classic Georgian architecture and modern facilities in central London.Passfield is well-placed for the West End and all of the main attractions of central London. The British Museum and British Library are only a short walk away. Rooms at Passfield are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your LSE Passfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passfield Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing