We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Mark Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 330
US$ 250
Bloomsbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 394
US$ 335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 168
US$ 154
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 281
US$ 185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 305
US$ 273
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 281
US$ 229
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Days Hotel London- Waterloo(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
US$ 94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 127
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
19
84
121
54
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
84
121
54
73
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed in St. Mark's for 3 nights in Nov 2011. Stayed in a triple room which was located on the third floor. Please note there is no lift in this hotel yet personally I didn't find this a problem as we only had to carry our bags up the stairs once - on arrival, and then down again - on departure. So it wasn't a huge obstacle as previous reviews make it out to be!

Although compact, I found the room cosy with everything we needed for our short stay. It even had a fan which helped a lot when we felt a bit stuffy at night. The normal tea/coffee facilities were present in the room with the addition of a microwave and fridge. The bathroom was also compact but modern, and possibly only recently renovated.

The breakfast was very basic but we were aware of this on booking so it wasn't a surprise. We only had breakfast in the hotel on the first morning - basic cereal and tea and toast. Didn't have an issue with queues but others after us had to wait at the door for a table.On the other two mornings we opted to have a lie-in and instead got breakfast in a lovely pub at the top of Barkston Gardens Road called "The Blackbird".

The room was provided with new towels and linen each day, and the cleaning lady always greeted us in the hall.

Personally, the best thing I found about the hotel was the location. It was approx a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station which was great for getting around the city and various tourist attractions. And only a 3 minute walk from M&S and other various shops.

For those giving negative reviews it must be reminded that St. Mark's in Earls Court is not a leisure hotel but simply somewhere to sleep at night. We didn't spend much time in the hotel during the day, only slept there at night. If your planning a relaxing trip away in a nice hotel, I'd opt for somewhere more expensive.

But in light of this being a budget/basic hotel, it is by far a basic hotel of the highest standard. Knowing we had opted for a basic hotel, I found myself pleasantly surprised at how comfy and clean St. Mark's was, and this is possibly the reason I regard it so much. Ultimately, lower expectations gave rise to a pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable stay at St. Mark's, Earl's Court.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked three nights at this hotel for a family with three adults and one child. Granted, it was a super cheap price especially for 4 people, however it fell slightly short of the mark.

For instance, the breakfast room was too small, and we had to wait to get a seat, but if you time it right you can get in. The breakfast consisted of cereals, orange juice, toast, cold boiled eggs and rubbery cheese. We noticed that the eggs were probably the ones not eaten from the day before too. There was tea and brewed coffee but it was of cheap quality.

The hotel staff barely spoke English and couldn't seem to take in what we were saying when I asked for more cups for our room.

My main complaint though is that the television in our room was unwatchable. It was a wide, flat screen tv and had 'satellite tv' but only if you speak in Arabic. It was tuned to a small selection of channels that I couldn't recognise. We complained about it to reception but the man just said it was the aerial connection. On our insistance he said he would speak to the manager about it, and try and take a look at it, the next day we noticed we had one of the main terestrial channels but it was snowy, like you were trying to watch using a coat hanger for an aerial.

There was a tv in reception which seemed to be tuned into CBBC ok and the one in the breakfast room was tuned into a music channel. So I don't understand why they had aerial problems.

Also the fridge in our room froze everything in it within a matter of hours. there was no temperature control on the fridge either.

There was a microwave, kettle and sink in our room which was great for preparing some food but no toaster as advertised.

The bathroom was modern and lovely, and the beds were comfortable (I slept well) and as the others have said there were plenty of sockets. The room was clean and serviced daily. It even had a telephone but no number for reception was given to call. There was also no welcome pack with hotel information.

The hotel was in a quiet, lovely street and close to shops, pubs and restaurants, Earls Court Road and the tube station.

This was the best thing about the hotel. Next time I think will pay a little more for better service and basic tv.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0adtripJunk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

A little background information:

We decided to leave the comfort of our house and change the setting for 2 nights in two different hotels in London:

We went by tube until Earl's Court and then, as we went out of the station, we took right on the 3rd street.(Barkston Gardens Street).It took us approx. 5 minutes to reach the hotel.
The street has the Barkston Gardens (green area) at the right and many hotels at the left.
There is also a Youth Hostel across the road.

As we entered the hotel, it looked like a small but well-designed, welcoming one.
The entrance was shining and I was happy to see a hotel well-stocked with useful guides and maps on London.

The check-in process was quick, we received the card for our room and..We went inside:

Our room was on groundfloor, near the reception. (This has the disadvantage that you might hear the reception phone ringing..Tight sleepers beware!)

The room is small, indeed, but we were there to sleep, not to run. And we slept well.
The place was clean, the bathroom had a modern look, the room consisted of all what ''WestWalesGranny'' said, plus a flatscreen-TV, a coffeemaker (teabags and coffee included) and a safe.
All the things in the room were working and we had enough soaps, shampoo, towels whaterver.
Even if they don't have drawers/shelves they have intelligently designed a space to hang some clothes in.


As about breakfast..I have nothing to add except what ''WestWalesGranny'' said.
We haven't tried the tea/coffee though.


P.S. Earls' Court is indeed in zone 1 but check with tfl.gov.uk how much exactly would take you to the places you want to visit. Keep in mind that there are repairs during weekends and Tube lines are partly closed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank British_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and felt a little deflated when we found the fridge didn't work and the shower was detached from the fixing. There was plenty of hot water though and plenty of sachets of shower gel and shampoo. The towels were clean and changed on both days.
At first glance we thought the bedspread was a bit grubby but in fairness it wasn't grubby it was just a very poor design which gave a grubby appearance! The sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable enough. In fact I slept very well. The room was small, as expected, but adequate for sleeping in, and had lots of power sockets. There was a small clothes hanging space with hangers and a small shelf with a large mirror. NO DRAWERS OR SHELVES FOR CLOTHES.
The breakfast room was small but if you timed it right as we did we always got a table without a wait. Fruit juice, muesli, cornflakes, a plate of rubbery slices of cheese, cold hard boiled eggs, white and brown bread (and toasters), butter and preserves, good coffee and mediocre tea bags. Enough to satisfy and keep one going but no cooked English breakfast, and it's a help yourself system.
I rang up 2 days before arriving to ensure they had honoured my request of a lower level room due to walking difficulties. They had overlooked my request but in fairness they did honour it and when we arrived we were shown to a ground level room.
It was quiet and very well situated for tube station and many shops, banks, post office, pubs, eating places etc and only a few minutes on the tube to the museums...so well potioned and very convenient.
Having stayed in a different hotel on the same street before I think I would rather pay a little more and have a slightly better grade of accomodation....but it did do for simply sleeping in. No luxury, simply basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level room when booking to avoid lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestWalesGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

St Mark Hotel in Earls Court is not great. Our visit was characterised by very indifferent service, no lift, an abysmal room (cabinets falling apart, filthy carpet, uncontrollably hot shower). The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to better hotels. It is cheap, but you get what you pay for. Almost.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews