We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR...IT'S BUDGET LEVEL”
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and felt a little deflated when we found the fridge didn't work and the shower was detached from the fixing. There was plenty of hot water though and plenty of sachets of shower gel and shampoo. The towels were clean and changed on both days.
At first glance we thought the bedspread was a bit grubby but in fairness it wasn't grubby it was just a very poor design which gave a grubby appearance! The sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable enough. In fact I slept very well. The room was small, as expected, but adequate for sleeping in, and had lots of power sockets. There was a small clothes hanging space with hangers and a small shelf with a large mirror. NO DRAWERS OR SHELVES FOR CLOTHES.
The breakfast room was small but if you timed it right as we did we always got a table without a wait. Fruit juice, muesli, cornflakes, a plate of rubbery slices of cheese, cold hard boiled eggs, white and brown bread (and toasters), butter and preserves, good coffee and mediocre tea bags. Enough to satisfy and keep one going but no cooked English breakfast, and it's a help yourself system.
I rang up 2 days before arriving to ensure they had honoured my request of a lower level room due to walking difficulties. They had overlooked my request but in fairness they did honour it and when we arrived we were shown to a ground level room.
It was quiet and very well situated for tube station and many shops, banks, post office, pubs, eating places etc and only a few minutes on the tube to the museums...so well potioned and very convenient.
Having stayed in a different hotel on the same street before I think I would rather pay a little more and have a slightly better grade of accomodation....but it did do for simply sleeping in. No luxury, simply basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level room when booking to avoid lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestWalesGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

St Mark Hotel in Earls Court is not great. Our visit was characterised by very indifferent service, no lift, an abysmal room (cabinets falling apart, filthy carpet, uncontrollably hot shower). The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to better hotels. It is cheap, but you get what you pay for. Almost.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were not even booked 2 stay at this hotel and were moved here from another 1 we had previously booked. Upon arrival we were slightly early so asked could we put our luggage somewhere secure and were basically told to leave them in the corridoor downstairs unattended but they 'would be fine because they have cctv' when we said we wernt happy with that she assured us that once our room was available she would put our luggage in there (it was still unattended downstairs when we came back ) awful attitude and more interested in her book than to deal with paying customers, Room was ok 4 a quick overnight stay and great location 2 tube but will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauz1984Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The room was incredible small (no wardrobe, no desk, no chair), we had a basement room with a lightwell window, breakfast was also in the basement and very crowed. Bathroom facilities were broken.
Staff was friendly.
The only advantage is the location (good neighborhood, close to tube, pubs and shops nearby)

Room Tip: Choose room on higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived at St Mark hotel after a long haul flight to find that our booking had been muddled upand my teenage daughter allocated a double room in lieu of a twin. The gentleman at reception was happy to rectify this and told us that the next day we would be moved. We were then allocated a room on the very top floor. There are no lifts and getting luggage up and down the unlit stairwell was dangerous and exhausting.

The rooms were tiny and a little outdated however the bathroom appears to have had a recent yet sub-standard renovation. The cleaning was regular. The linen was ok. We would have preferred a little more than the top sheet and one blanket but fortunately it wasn't too cold. The hot water as referenced in other reports is hit and miss. The breakfast was an adequate buffet of cereal, toast with preserves juice, coffee, eggs and cheese and the two young ladies servicing the neat dining room were very pleasant. Unfortunately I can't say the same for some of the other front office staff.

If you are looking for somewhere to lay your head at night then this hostel style hotel will suit your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeesonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
666 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#577 of 1,077 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#722 of 1,077 in London
433 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#706 of 1,077 in London
364 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#801 of 1,077 in London
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Address: Road, Earl's Court 4 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,392 - ₹ 16,987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Mark Hotel is situated on Barkston Garden in London's Earls Court district. The St Mark Hotel is a popular budget hotel in central London offering 25 guest rooms all with private ensuite facilities. The Hotel is located in the heart of Earls Court, giving hotel guests excellent access to central London, including Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Olympia Exhibition Centre, making the hotel an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mark Hotel
St Mark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing