We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #254 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very nice, clean, comfortable, and up-to-date hotel. This was our first visit to London, and the location of The Grand is awesome... easily walkable to many London attractions such as Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, and a plethora of restaurants, pubs, and shopping. I would definitely stay at the Grand again, and would absolutely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKub624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    524
    189
    55
    36
See reviews for
284
637
116
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Grand is a first class hotel 100 meters from Trafalgar Square and close to very many interesting sights in London. Room was very comfortable and quiet with one of the nicest beds I have encountered in my many years of European travel. Staff was a little aloof , but not really a problem for us. Room very clean and would highly recommend to anyone spending a few days or more in London.

Room Tip: always rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here loads, great for business and pleasure.

Woke up here Christmas day as was in London Christmas eve on business. It's always value for money and a lovely building .

Great heritage in London this building holds. Very English traditional :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleatdrink19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Check in fast although I hope one day I will find someone a London hotel whose staff can speak English rather than foreign workers who make my life hard by being unable to deal with simple requests. Yes take the bags to the room means you not me. Can I have a paper means 'newspaper' not a pad of writing paper and just because I'm on a business stay room service doesn't mean I want 'extras' unless the 'lady' with the high heels and short skirt is bringing up my cases..
Room was clean, very small, view was of a wall to the building next door, bed was ok but had seen better days..If it had been anywhere else I would have considered this very poor for the price but it seems hotels in central London are now picking prices they think they can get away with.. If you want to put the 'grand' back in your hotel maybe knock some smaller rooms together into larger ones and update the items in it.... and some English staff on the desk would be nice as I have trouble with my Polish and other east European languages.. needless to say I wont bother staying here again..

Room Tip: stay somewhere else unless you need to be in this area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The entrance to the hotel is just as the name suggests - very grand! Our room on the 5th floor looked onto a brick wall, which was a bit of a disappointment as the hotel is really well situated just off trafalger square. Room was very clean, but the heating was not great and it got very cold. The toilets in the lobby were very dirty obviously in need of more regular checks. Boyds restaurant was a big let down, we tried to book a meal for 6pm, only to be told they were full. Yet when we walked past at 6pm to head off to prezzos the restaurant was virtually empty!? We did have breakfast there the next day, and this we felt was very overpriced £15 each for basically a plate of beans! We did complain only to be told that the Boyds is separate from the hotel. There are loads of little cafes that do excellent breakfasts nearby, go to them instead!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#93 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#350 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Property: The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,690 - ₹ 24,707
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing