We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short break in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Hotel
Ranked #752 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a short break in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for one night in a deluxe double room. Most comfortable bed ever! Lovely, plush soft furnishings including bed canopy. Door opening onto balcony with table and 2 chairs an added bonus. Situated in really quiet area. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Visited V & A and attended event at Royal Albert Hall - both within easy walking distance. Close to many cafes/restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    106
    50
    21
    22
See reviews for
30
77
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We visited London in October 2011. We stayed at The Gallery Hotel for the 2nd time. The room is comfy with a lovely bath. We got a good rate via the Internet. The location is perfect! Victoria and Albert Museum is a block away and Harrods is within walking distance. Very close to the Tube. The personnel was efficient and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oetjen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilman, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

LOCATION - Awesome We took the underground direct from Heathrow to South Kensington and walked 3 1/2 blocks to The Gallery. Within easy walking distance are a variety of restaurants and pubs, a grocery store with prepared sandwiches, bottled water & wine, a launderette, a bank with an inside ATM and some of the major museums where you can catch a tour bus. Herrods & Hyde Park are a bit farther to walk. Grab a sandwich & drink at Herrods and have lunch in Hyde Park! We always felt safe walking around.

ROOM - lovely, think cruise ship cabin size. Not enough hangers, but housekeeping brought us some more. Bathroom was always clean. Getting in and out of the high tub was tricky for us 60+ & not so sure about the mirror wall in the shower.

STAFF - most were terrific. They gave us recommendations on places to eat and made reservations for tours. Tim was very helpful in answering my questions by email before we arrived. One girl at the desk was clueless.

BREAKFAST - Continental breakfast was included in our room rate which was 3 types of cereal, yogurt, breads & rolls with butter and jam, cheese & ham, canned pears, peaches & pineapple, tea, coffee and juices. For 5 pounds extra we got and "English Breakfast" of 2 eggs any style, one thick sausage link, Canadian-type bacon, half grilled tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and toast. Breakfast staff was not very attentive, but I'd rather that than someone hovering.

Only bad thing is that we did not get a message that a cousin left for us inviting us to dinner at her place. We saw a light blink on the phone, but could not retrieve the message. The staff seemed clueless and could not help us. It was so frustrating. The manager said he would get his IT person to look into it, but we had missed the dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escape5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Location: Ideal as I was attending a function at the Natural History Museum
Staff: Helpful and friendly
Bedroom: small but adequate, bathroom a little worn but clean, bed very comfy
Travel: South Kensington Tube station 3 or 4 minutes walk away
Price: £80 for single night room only, good value
Food: Breakfast seemed a little expensive so did not eat here

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the Gallery Hotel on Wednesday the 15th of February as we were seeing a show at the Royal Albert Hall. The motel is in a great location to where we needed to be and was decorated really nicely. We were a little let down with a couple of things- we checked in at the desk no problem but when we got the tiny lift to out room on the fourth floor there was still a cleaner vacuuming our room- it was 1:30pm at this time and check in was apparently from 1pm onwards. We eventually got into our room and tried to phone reception for an iron- but the phone didn't work. My fiance went to reception to ask for an iron and the girl working there said she would 'send someone from the kitchen'?? He went away not sure whether she had understood him or not. We did get the iron but felt that the workers should have had better English skills. Our toilet flush also didn't work properly and the TV was very old and had limited channels.
On the plus side the decoration of the room was lovely, the shower was nice and powerful and the bed was comfortable- for me anyway. It was a very soft mattress and my fiance woke up with a sore back as he had slept on his stomach.
Overall we were generally happy as we had a good time in London but would only stay in the motel again if we had to be in the particular area and couldn't find anything cheaper. The room was £90 on laterooms but at the motel we saw a sign advertising double rooms for £188 per night- very expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#359 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#645 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#172 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#560 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#425 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Hotel

Property: The Gallery Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #752 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,484 - ₹ 24,808
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking so you can book your The Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing