We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Going back in time in one place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising

Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 74.64*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #101 of 1,558 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please see the website for up to date information. Just around the corner from the world-famous Portobello Road Market stands a unique, Aladdin's cave of retro design and memories - the only museum of its kind in the whole world. Imagine walking through a corridor full from floor to ceiling with the treats that the British have filled their shopping baskets with for the last 200 years. Every corner you turn in the Time Tunnel leads you into a different decade. Discover what has made shoppers tick for the last 200 years and surround yourself in the classic designs, vintage adverts and retro stylings that fill our museum. The Museum is available to hire for evening events and there's a fabulous conference room for daytime events! So whether you visit to awaken childhood memories or to inspire your own designs, we welcome you to the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising. Opening Times Tuesday to Saturday: 10am - 6pm Sunday: 11am - 5pm Monday: Closed, except bank holidays We are closed during the Notting Hill Carnival, 24, 25 and 26 December and New Year's Day. Last entry is 45 minutes before closing.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Siggiewi, Malta
1 review
“Going back in time in one place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nice museum, authentic brands and merchandise. helps you remember what e#we had in our times and what our great great grand parents used, it's fascinating! i was really looking forward to see it when i came to London and it was worth it! if there is a chance it is a good idea to having replicas of the merchandise and the items themselves so people can take back home a a souvenir and an unforgettable memory!! i missed the fact though that we were not allowed to take photos, i have everything stored in my mind but they will soon fade away, and photos help you remember!

a lovely experience in a very nice and quite part of London!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    271
    35
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best museum in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I visited the Museum of Brands it's the best museum ever. I was so inspired watching all the packaging and ads. I stayed there for hours to absorb all the details. Could have stayed there forever. Still want to go back. Super friendly atmosphere and friendly people working there. As a added bonus it's located in the most beautiful part for London I would never have discovered if it wasn't for the Museum of Brands. I'll be back...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inspiring little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lovely museum that makes you really think about packaging design and how the introduction of plastic changed the game completely. Great size too and appropriate pricing reflects this. One bit of important feedback, don't try and use a smart phone to read their map on their website, it becomes too pixilated so make sure you know where you are going before hand! Maybe a higher res map could be uploaded on their site?
Thanks for a great afternoon.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best little museum ever! A must see in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I didn't know this gem existed until I typed in things to do in notting hill London. I was finally visiting portobello road / market and had to stop by the museum. It's easy to find and close to the the market stalls. But as soon as you enter your greeted by really friendly staff and a world from the past! It's a great day out filled with nostalgia and reminiscing about all brands you used and loved as a child! Also loved seeing products that my grandparents used which brought back some lovely memories I had forgotten over the years!

From a marketers perspective it was a must as well seeing household brands grow and develop over the years got my creative juices flowing!

I loved it. Please visit and help this museum grow! Also a treat that students get in for only £4 :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliantly turns day to day consumer goods into pieces of art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I love this museum as it captures the objects you use and eat on a day to day basis and immortalises their designs. The time tunnel is stunning - I'm particularly fond of the art deco and sixties sections - where you can admire everything from elegant chocolate boxes and minature bottles to Star Wars crisp packets and Beatles memorabillia! A visual feast! Nestled behind Portobello Road, enjoy the market at the same time plus plethora of funky bars and cafes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing