We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full of character”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel was wonderfully clean with welcoming reception staff - we were shown personally to our room and helped with our bags. Bright room with good quality bedding. En suite rather cramped but adequate and good selection of toiletries. Good choice of continental breakfast, lovely pastries and very friendly staff. We don't often stay in London but were visiting our son and had quite a busy itinerary. Returning to the room at night, with excellent TV, was a real plus. There is a very good bus service to central London, about 5 minutes walk, but it's nearly 30 minutes to the nearest tube.

Room Tip: We opted for a kingsize bed and were glad that we'd done so. It's a real rabbit warren of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    130
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
48
142
65
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I needed somewhere to stay overnight when I was working in the area. For the price I had fairly low expectations but was delighted to find somewhere with a great deal of character and charm. The top floor room was small (I'd booked a single - although the bed was double I think you would struggle to get 2 people in) but spotlessly clean and welcoming.

There was complimentary bottled water, chocolate and hot sauce, as well as flat screen TV, DVD player, and desk and chair to work at. I couldn't find the free wifi signal, but sure if I had been staying longer the helpful staff would have assisted me.

I had to leave before breakfast so didn't get a chance to experience that. The reception was manned 24 hours, which is good.

The only criticism I could give was that most of the night I could hear an extractor fan from another room running noisily. The room was reached via several flights of steep stairs, so wouldn't have be suitable for someone who struggles with stairs.

The location isn't in traditional tourist territory, and there is no tube station nearby, but it is close (5 min walk) to main bus routes with frequent services to central locations such as Kings Cross and Oxford Circus. The bus journey from Kings Cross was approx 30 minutes.

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n-and-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We're really surprise with lovely minimalis hotel but unique&wonderfull;Church St.Hotel.
Room&interior-design and decoration is fantastic, we're feel go to Church on Sunday.
Everything it's nice,good breakfast;lovely,friendly staff also Jose,thank's.
Location is quite helpfull for public transportion, definetely will be stay again to this hotel when go to London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leosetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would always stop here if staying in London, even if it wasn't the nearest to where I had to be. Have stayed there 3 times now. The rooms are all lovely, the breakfast's superb and I love the self-service filter coffee and honesty bar.The staff couldn't be more helpful and as a lone female traveller felt very safe and secure there. The only disadvantage is that it's a taxi ride from the nearest tube station. However, if you take your car, they've negotiated parking at the local church.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivinghoe bucks
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for one night, to be near to our daughter and her family who live in Camberwell. We received a very friendly welcome and were shown to our room which was high up at the rear of the hotel, overlooking a car park (not the hotel's). The room was beautifully decorated in vibrant colours, had a flat screen television and there was a hairdryer in the wardrobe. The bathroom, although small, was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had L'Occitane toiletries, lovely fluffy towels and a good shower. There were some nice touches, such as Green & Black's chocolate, bottled water and paperbacks to read. The room was very pretty and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with croissants and Danish pastries on the table, alongside preserves, honey, marmalade, etc - even Marmite! There were soft boiled eggs, a selection of cereals, yoghurts, juices, etc. and toast was made freshly on request and brought to the table. All staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant, "Angels and Gypsies", next door, which served really authentic tapas-style food. The food and service were both first class.

We have come to know Camberwell quite well over the past 10 years or so and have found it to be a vibrant, multi-cultural area of London, with quite a "village" feel because of the many independent cafes, restaurants, greengrocers, bakers, etc. Don't be put off by the location, as we have always found it to be a very welcoming place, with some lovely parks and leafy avenues as well as the bustling centre. There are good transport links to some of the best places in London and The Church Street Hotel would be an ideal base from which to explore them.

Room Tip: We had Room 7, which was up a couple of flights of stairs and to the rear of the hotel, so was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcb 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Chelsea Guest House
#315 of 1,067 in London
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#625 of 1,067 in London
564 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
208 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#890 of 1,067 in London
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Property: Church Street Hotel
Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,614 - ₹ 12,260
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing