We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have stayed a few times at this hotel, very well appointed and excellent staff. The facilities and decor are top class, as are the other Firmdale hotels where we have stayed in London. They even upgraded our daughter to a suite on her 18th birthday.

Room Tip: The main Haymarket road can be noisy but the double glazing is pretty good, the side roads are much...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Haymarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 563 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Wonderful, wonderful staff and hotel....
I booked online as a birthday treat for my husband as we were going to see One Man Two Guv'nors and mentioned this in the confirmation email sent to the hotel two days before we arrived. On arrival I was discreetly handed an envelope which had a voucher for two complimentary glasses of champagne. Check in was swift and we were shown the ropes at the hotel which operates an honesty bar in the library for guests after the restaurant and bar have closed. We were shown to our room on the top floor and given the usual tour. The room was one of the smaller ones (I knew this when I booked) but it was gorgeous. King sized bed, sofa, armchair, two double wardrobes and all the usual amenities - safe, hairdryer, ironing board etc. Fantastic bathroom, with a shower you could get lost in and lovely toiletries. From then on the staff addressed us by name - even the ones that we had not met when we checked in.
Breakfast was included in our room rate - it was a fantastic choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts, pastries, etc and also an extensive menu of cooked items. I settled for fresh orange juice, freshly made porridge and coffee whilst my husband chose the full English.
This boutique hotel is just as it appears on the website but what you can't see is the great service which in my book makes all the difference.

Room Tip: We had a high room and no traffic noise, we were also right next to the lifts but could not hear the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YbMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I came with my husband and three children (two teenagers, one 9 year old) to stay one night. We were greeted in the street by the friendly doorman who immediately took care of our luggage and car. The reception area was beautifully decorated as was the whole hotel, and lifted the spirits immediately. Our rooms were large and also very beautiful. The bathrooms were very large too, beautiful again, and everything was very well equipped.
When we returned from our evening out the man at the desk chatted to me and my children, asked them if they'd like a DVD, offered to have popcorn or milk and cookies sent to their room, which they did. My kids were in seventh heaven.
Everyone was extremely efficient and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome. We have stayed in the Charlotte Street hotel as well, but the staff were distant there. Perhaps because they have a different kind of clientele.
I love this hotel and I will definitely choose to go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oxfordhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Haymarket Hotel is definitely one of the best boutique hotels in London. We spent four nights in the Luxury Junior Suite which was beautifully designed with great natural lighting. The bathroom was also very spacious. Overall, the room was extremely cozy and comfortable. The lobby was bright and inviting. The service was excellent. Located in the heart of London's theatre district, the hotel is a short walk away from Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery and Covent Garden. We had a lovely experience at the hotel and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evon802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Recently, i've decided to choose again Haymarket for a short break in London. Actually this is the third visit in this beautiful Firmdale property and it's sincerely better and better. This property is so good i'd hardly choose any other hotel for my upcoming stays in the British capital or maybe just an other Firmdale. However Haymarket Hotel has the great facility to have a wonderful pool and is so perfectly located at just 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus i even don't think so.

When we arrived in London at the beginning of June, we haven't been so lucky with a typical british rainy day but the marvelous smile of the front desk officer and the flashy colors of the lobby make us immediately happy and we even forget the bad weather outside. Since the first visit when the staff was not so nice and not so professional, there is an impressive improvement making of the team of Haymarket one of the nicest. All of them are so friendly but on the good way. They're extremely smily and attentive to your smallest request. They're not snobish at all and work with a perfect professionalism and they always have a nice word for you. A true excellent team.

During this visit, we stayed in a fantastic Luxury Jr Suite located on the first floor. My request was for a very colorful accommodation and we have been totally delighted by the decoration, amazing blend of colors and fabrics which is the secret of Kit Kemp, the incredible designer and co-owner of Firmdale Group. I think this lady has an unparalleled sense for design making of each room, a piece of Art but with an atmosphere you'll never find somewhere else. I think you'll feel so good in your room you'll do not even wanna go out and we've finally haven't been so disturbed by the rain.

So this Jr Suite is probably the most beautiful Firmdale room we experienced. With 3 large windows overlooking Haymarket and the vibrant street life of London, the room is full of light and has high ceilings giving to the guest an impression of an oversized space. Actually, it's quite spacious with 45 sq. meters, you'll do not feel in a tight room at all. This Jr Suite is also very nice for travelers with big baggages cause you'll have three extensive cupboards. We truly loved the scheme of colors with pink, almond, mauve and beige and all the little details making of this hotel room your home away from home. The bathroom is so spacious identical to all the other Firmdale bathroom but the one in this Jr Suite has the advantage to have a window and is extremely spacious and always these excellent amenities by Harris Miller.

During our stay we experienced the high breakfast which is maybe the most intelligent breakfast we tried. It's a king of afternoon high tea but adapted for breakfast. Very well presented on a famous three level plate, each mini dish was very delicious. It's a very original and different way for breakfast offering the possibility to have different flavory little things instead of just eggs, pancakes or waffles.

We had dinner at Brumus as well but order something very simple but really well done, a Dover Sole so fresh and cooked to perfection. Service was very attentive and as usual in this marvelous hotel, the design of the restaurant is so beautiful. Moreover, prices are quite reasonable considering we're in London.

I'd like to congratulate as well the whole team for a WOW experience we had. The blackout in our Jr Suite was not as good as we like so the housekeeping team found the solution to block the light putting pins all along the height of the curtains and stick the curtain to the wall on both side of each window. It probably took an hour to fix this problem but they've done it and this is a evident proof they're taking a great care of guests.

Haymarket is consequently our favorite hotel of London and one of the best of the world. We gave 5 points without hesitation and it's really well deserved.

Room Tip: one of the Jr Suite but each room has its own style and it's always AMANZING
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,071 in London
2,813 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,071 in London
3,860 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,071 in London
2,545 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,071 in London
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 27,732 - ₹ 1,39,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ostrovok, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing