We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firmdale at its best!”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here with my partner for a London break. Love this hotel. The detail, the service. Stayed in a few Firmdale hotels but this is easily their best. Always feel like the first guest to have slept in the room. Pool is a hidden gem...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concorde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was my first stay at the Haymarket though I've stayed often at the Charlotte Street, Soho and Covent Garden hotels. Decor-wise, it's up there with the best of the rest of the group but for me it lacked the magic ingredient that makes the others so successful. Perhaps it's the location - the others I have stayed at central but feel more tucked away but the Haymarket is on a busy road. Perhaps it's the fact that it's smack bang in a really touristy area makes it feel less special. Service-wise it was excellent with the usual, super-efficient room service and attentive housekeeping. But somehow the atmosphere was a bit more 'remote' than the usual Firmdale experience and I shan't be rushing back. (Though I will to the others!)

Room Tip: My room overlooked Haymarket so I expected a lot of traffic noise. However, the windows were so wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

In some ways this hotel has been a mixed blessing of a find. The downside is that it will be difficult to stay anywhere else when we visit London in the future. The upside is...well, everything else.

On first impressions Haymarket Hotel has the quintessentially traditional English facade, complete with Union Jack and clipped topiary trees. It's in a quiet side street in the heart of the city.

On arrival we were greeted by the hotel's friendly doorman who valet-parked our vehicle for us (this is the other option to the NCP as mentioned previously) and we stepped through the grand doors in to the reception area. Immediately we were 'wowed' by the interior design which is both bold and beautiful, and the warm welcome from the concierge and front-of-house staff.

We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade and our room was spacious and luxurious. The bathroom perfect too (the tile TV & signature toiletries deserving a special mention). The design is stunning (not bland & greige as some hotel rooms have become) without sacrificing practicality and spotlessly clean. Despite the windows overlooking a busy junction, any traffic noise there might have been wasn't an issue.

Ours was a 'flying visit', so we decided to give sightseeing a miss on this occasion, even though many of the capital's attractions are a stone's throw from the hotel. We chose instead to have a mid-afternoon meal at the Delaunay (sister restaurant to the Wolseley), and then popped in to No.1 Aldwych for cocktails afterwards. Both were fabulous. Although we sneaked a peek at the swimming pool in this hotel, and whilst lovely, it was not in the same league as the pool at Haymarket...I loved their pool, and this was one of my main reasons for picking the hotel. I think I would have been really disappointed if we hadn't had the opportunity to take a dip, but from reading the other reviews it seems this is totally pot-luck.

We stayed in the hotel bar during the evening, and chose a late meal from the bar menu - English and Italian tapas - and both were perfect. As were the bar staff who went out of their way to be attentive and efficient. The ambiance of the Brumus restaurant and bar is unique and intimate.

I missed the breakfast (the comfortable bed had a lot to do with this), but my husband assured me it was fantastic. Cereal, toast, full English etc.

On checking out we were pleasantly surprised by our bill. Value for money is sometimes difficult to evaluate, but we both agreed Haymarket Hotel is absolutely outstanding value for money. We could not have found even an incy-wincy fault with the staff, design, amenities, food and drink or location if we had wanted to. The problem is now that this hotel has set the bar very, very high for our next visit to London, and I'm not sure we will want to take the gamble and stay anywhere else.

Haymarket Hotel is totally perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agdord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here for a night away to catch up with friends. First things first.... the two guys on the door are a credit to the hotel. Interior brilliant, the swimming pool area in a sensational room. All the staff very very well training and nothing was too much trouble. Bar was great, Breakfast ace, especially the granola and the lowsley yoghurt is totally moorish !! This is Firmdale at it's best and might just pip the Soho Hotel we stayed at earlier in the year. Car parking is the only grip being in a NCP but London is London. No problem. If you are in London and want a very well run, ssuper stylish hotel without the pretense, go there. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great staff, location, bed and suite. Even though our suite had 3 windows, one of them directly onto Haymarket, the room was quiet and calm and we had a great night sleep.

We also liked the knowledgeable concierge (we were very happy with the lunchimte restaurant recommendation) and the smiley receptionists and doorman. And the decor is just gorgeous to look at too, as is the mini bar, the swimming pool, the honesty bar, it's just a great place to be. And wonderfully central but still peaceful.

I love it here, I really rate this hotel for all the reasons above but I am a tad irritated at the £20 charge for wi-fi - at over £400 a night they should be providing this in my view.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,494 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#29 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 23,936 - ₹ 1,27,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing