We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No frill, No Aircon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Ranked #74 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No frill, No Aircon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Location Wise this place is excellent for:

Tower Bridge
Tower of London
Shard Building
A walk by the river Thames

It is a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest underground (tube) station.

I am mentioning where this place is because there is very little to actually say about it. We had a studio apartment, kitchenette, bathroom.

It is possibly the warmest little room I have ever spent my time in.

I have lived in the canary islands and cooler nights sleep.
I currently live in an apartment in the UK where I only need to turn my heating on for about 3 weeks of the year because it is generally quite warm... this place was warmer.
My girlfriend had to get up in the middle of the night for cold showers because it was so warm.
Want to open the window? You can... I say that because you can.. but only about 2 inches which is completely useless.
They had obviously realised how warm these rooms were because they had a fan in there.. It really did circulate the warm air nicely (sarcasm).

I am not impressed or unimpressed with the building and understand that we stayed for 2 days that were freakishly warm for London (30 Celsius). Some air con was needed.

Room has hair dryer, iron, washing machine, dish washer, TV and free Wi-Fi

Room Tip: Try get a ground floor room in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Think. I sincerely apologise that your overall Think Experience was affected by the temperature of your apartment.

The location of our Tower Bridge Property is a 10 minute walk from London Bridge Station (Northern, Jubilee & National Rail Services) walking past iconic buildings including Tower Bridge, City Hall and the London Dungeons or Tower of London just a 5 minute walk across the bridge towards Tower Hill station. The property is situated in close proximity to a vast selection of high standard restaurants including Zucca, Gaucho and Gregg’s Table (Gregg Wallace’s latest venture) joining the Tower Bridge and Bermondsey area.

It is clear that during the time of your stay the temperature was extraordinarily high for our usual London standards and we currently do not operate an air conditioning system in our Tower Bridge property. In the meantime we do provide fans should it be necessary.

Without direct contact it is difficult to determine which apartment you stayed in. Some apartments do have windows that are restricted as to how far they can open for Health & Safety reasons however should we have another apartment available we would be happy to assist guests moving apartments to ensure guest comfort. It is important that guests let us know if anything is not working as it should be as without knowledge we are unable to take the necessary steps to improve our guests stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and on behalf of the team at Think, we hope you will Think again and join us on your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    215
    126
    62
    46
See reviews for
139
197
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I so wanted to love this place! We got a great bargain on lastminute.com and I did love the apartment (room 103). Check in was easy, parking available for £10 per 24 hours, free wifi and whilst the place we had to stay in was not in the same building as Reception, it was only a couple of minutes walk and easy to find.
The apartment was modern and clean and the kitchenette is a great idea. There are a couple of things that ruined it entirely for me though.

Firstly, the only mirror is in the bathroom and there is no plug socket nearby - it is therefore not possible to blow dry hair in front of a mirror.
Second, the bathroom is lovely, but the actual shower and shower base are very cheap and not very nice. Perhaps some sort of replacement of the original?
Third, The towels were very thin and the size of a stamp.
Fourth, Pillows were thin and hard.
Fifth, we got no sleep at all! The room was so hot that it was impossible to sleep properly, but when I opened the window the noise was so loud that there was no way of sleeping anyway. Along with the hideous pillows, we both left as soon as we can with thumping headaches having not slept a wink.
I did tell the receptionist when I checked out and she apologised and told me I should I have asked for a fan. A fan in the room would have been a great idea, but how am I to know what the hotel do and do not supply and it was not until we went to bed at gone 11 that we discovered the problems. She then said, "well when you stay with us next time, just request a quieter room". ??
Not sure we would want to!
I really wanted to like this hotel, and a fan, decent pillows and the odd mirror near a plug would be all it needed really. A hotel is pointless if you cannot actually get any sleep. I have had a look at the other comments and whilst it is to be expected that every now and then, things can go wrong, it is more important how the complaints are handled, it would appear that this hotel is not learning lessons.
A first time patron does not know to ask for a quieter room, or to ask for a fan. Neither would they bring their own towels and pillows! They need to take on board the recurring feedback and do something about it. I am gutted to have to leave this feedback as I really wanted to like it, so it such a shame :(

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, a fan, a mirror, decent towels and pillows.....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Think. I was sincerely saddened to read that your expectations were not met on this occasion and would like to take this opportunity to comment.

During the time of your stay, it is clear that the temperature was extraordinarily high by London standards and we currently do not operate an air conditioning system in our Tower Bridge property. In the meantime we provide fans should it be necessary. These are usually left in our apartments and we provide additional fans on request. Since your stay with us we have now lined the external windows of the apartment building with a UV film which will filter out some of the heat which has affected your apartment and this should reduce the temperature in the future to a more comfortable level.

Within our apartments we do have an on-going refurbishment program in place whereby we are upgrading or improving the current facilities and amenities. These changes and revisits are occurring as part of our Preventative Performance Maintenance and our guest’s feedback. On a 6 month basis our on-site Maintenance Team assess every apartment and take the necessary action in order to ensure all future expectations are met. Within the bathrooms, we do not provide plug sockets as this is highlighted by the Institution of Electrical Engineering (IEE) Wiring Regulations as a restriction requirement necessary within or close to baths or wash basins. We have however, started providing full length mirrors in the bedroom or living room area where plug sockets are readily available as part of our on-going refurbishment program. In the rare event that a facility or amenity is not provided or does not meet a guests specific requirements then it is important that our 24 hour Reception is informed as we do carry spare stock including extra towels and additional pillows. It is our aim to ensure guests enjoy their Think Experience with us and unfortunately without knowledge it is difficult for us to be able to achieve this and improve our guest’s experience.

We do value your feedback and we are learning from guest’s experiences. Our refurbishment program with continue through the winter and hope you would revisit us so that we can restore your confidence in Think Apartments. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

After the usual crazy London hotel summer pricing we booked three nights here to keep our stay more reasonable.
Check in was in a separate section of the property just off the main road. Nice easy and friendly check in. Short walk to the room and we were sorted.
This is essentially an apartment block, secure front access with lifts to all floors.
The standard open plan room had a good fully fitted modern kitchen, small table for eating, good seating area with sofa an tv. Queen Double bed and clothes storage. A small modern bathroom is in a enclosed corner of the room.
This place was perfect for a couple staying a few days in London and offered a more relaxed and private feel than many hotels, it feels more like being at home!

Great wifi connection which helped when on business.

Could have been improved with some air con as the room got quite warn at night and the blinds needed improving, other adjacent rooms could see into our room.

Would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Think. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Think Experience with us and have passed on your comments for the relevant departments to share amongst their teams.

Without direct contact with yourself it is difficult to determine which specific apartment you stayed in due to the lack of information within your Tripadvisor profile. In regards to the heating issue you encountered, I suggest for future stays to contact a member of the Think team. Many of our apartments have under floor heating that may take more time to heat or cool down compared to more conventional heating systems. We have 13 Maintenance professionals on site who are able to rectify heating issues and in the case that it cannot be fixed straight away we do have fans available or can of course offer an alternative apartment if we have availability.

Thank you once again for your feedback and on behalf of the Think Team, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice sized apartment, Mini-Mary across the street, 10 minute walk to London Bridge tube/rail station. Safe, quiet, not a lot of frills. Simple, affordable, everything you'd need for a leisure or business visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tymmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Think. I was pleased that you enjoyed your Think Experience with us and on behalf of the Think Team, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were greeted by chatty, helpful, professional reception staff who gave us a good knowledge of the local area and and good directions to our apartment, which was central, right next to access to a bus stop and 10 minutes from the nearest tube station. Our apartment was small, but we got a very good deal through booking.com so we cant really complain - it worked out cheaper than most nearby hotels! the bed was on the small side but linen was clean and mattress was comfy, plus we had all the amenities, even down to a teeny tiny dishwasher and 2 microwaves (because 1 just isn't enough!)!!

I think if we were paying full price for the apartment I might have been a bit disappointed but I cant argue that it was a bargain, and there were probably people staying in the same block who had paid more than us and had therefore been allocated better rooms. Ours could have done with the once over; a new lick of paint (there was a bit of damp and a wine spill mark on the wall) and a re-grout or re-siliconing in the bathroom too. But, saying that it was clean, with a lovely feel with everything we needed and it was everything we were asking for. Thankyou, Think Tower Bridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Think. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to comment. Within our Think portfolio, we have a range of apartments available designed to provide our guests with a home away from home experience. On a 6 month basis our onsite Maintenance Team conduct planned preventative maintenance whereby we do a thorough check of all the facilities in our apartments and make the necessary improvements to ensure our guests continue to have an enjoyable stay with us. In the rare event that something is not up its usual standard, we encourage guests to contact a member of the team so that we can rectify it. The particular Studio apartment you were allocated, although the prime entry point in our portfolio, it does contain all the facilities found within the higher categories aside from a fully fitted kitchen. However in some Studio apartments we do provide two microwaves to enable guests to heat and steam food items at the same time making their cooking needs easier.

Thank you for your feedback and your comments on our Front of House Team. I have passed these on for the Hotel Manager to share amongst her team. On behalf of the Think Team, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London.

Kind regards,

Jim Souter
Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
London Tower Bridge Apartments
London Tower Bridge Apartments
#621 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#250 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Tower Bridge Superior Apartments
Southwark
Tower Bridge London Apartments
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge

Property: Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Address: 169 Tower Bridge Rd | Tanner St & Tower Bridge, London SE1 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,299 - ₹ 20,258
Hotel Class:4 star — Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Think Tower Bridge Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing