We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opulence Central London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Opulence Central London
Ranked #1,036 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Majorca, Spain
1 review
“Nice hotel with helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Easy check in. It was my first visit to london but The receptionist suroz was really helpful as he was in the hotel all the days i stayed there and helped me with locations and gave me helpful recommendations. The room was clean. I was in the top floor. The only problem was no lift but i didnot care as i liked the hotel and the room was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoniolopez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    33
    50
    151
See reviews for
26
89
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Check in was easy (I guess) as you had to fill in a form whilst the receptionist was half interested in what you were asking and half interested in browsing the internet.

I asked for a wake up call for 6am - as a backup to my own alarms and it never came. My alarm woke me up at 5:45, and the receptionist claimed to give me a wake up call 10 minutes before the actual time I asked for a wake up call - which was actually a lie. She then tried to convince me that i'd answered the call saying i'm already awake, and then she came to check on me at 6am to see if I was awake - none of this happened. I don't think the receptionist knew what a wake up call was to be honest. I don't even think my phone was working either. Just blatant lying going on there, and she wasn't even at reception in the morning - I had to phone her in her room and she couldn't be bothered to check me out of my room.

Room was a bit cramped, and on the 4th floor - a bit of a nightmare as I had bags too. No offer to help me up the stairs either. Note - there is no lift, and the stairways and corridors are narrow.

Space mattress on really low bed was actually quite uncomfortable somehow.

TV was ok, it worked at least. It didn't have a good range of channels though - 1-3 UK channels and the rest were foreign. Real mish mash of stuff.

There was no offer of free wifi - i'd at least expect that in a 4*. Not even a mention if any wifi was available.

Flooring on 4th floor looked like it had been done recently, and doesnt match the carpet of the other floors, so I was woken up in the middle of the night by people arriving and all I could hear were footsteps on the wooden floor.

Bathroom came with soaps and shampoo which were a welcome surprise.

When I asked for a taxi to be booked, receptionist quickly stopped me mid sentence with how much cheaper their taxi's were compared to getting a black cab and offered me a cab straight to Heathrow for £45. I wasn't going to heathrow at all. Once I told her where I was going, she said get a taxi outside. Nice.

Luckily, I only stayed a night. Would recommend going to travelodge more than this place, at least they have friendly staff. Just avoid this place altogether. A lot of 1/2* hotels are better than this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank estranero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We should have read the reviews - they are all correct.

The rooms are fine, a bit dated, but there are a number of things that tainted our two night stay.
1) Shower in our (first) room had no cold water going into the mixer.
2) When we asked to shift rooms to one with a working shower, there was a lot of dicking about before we were offered an equivalent one. The guy on the front desk wasn't particularly interested or helpful.
3) The new room had working shower, except the door was falling off.
4) The toilet constantly dripped.
5) There was no hairdryer - although this was supplied when we asked.
6) The hot tap in the basin only dribbled.
7) The room is near the basement restaurant and we woke to the sound of crockery and cutlery clanging.
8) Didn't really affect us, but there is no lift, in a hotel with 5 levels.
9) Kettle and cups, but no tea or coffee - were told it's not provided.
10) Don't believe the pricing entered on wotif - the "regular" room rates are much lower than shown.

There are plenty of similar hotels in the area. My advice would be to shop around.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels offer better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I normally leave a detailed review to try and help fellow travellers with an objective overview to help informed decisions.

However, this hotel is a shocker - go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingbrits03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here overnight in January 2012 due to hospital appointments and were looking forward to having somewhere good to relax. ...Absolutely disgusting, never a four star rating! Nothing good about it. Very tired dirty and run down. 84 steps including front steps to fourth floor bedroom number 3. No hot water, bulbs not working in bedside lamp or entrance to room. Telephone not working.Stair carpet filthly and stair rods broken. No tea/coffee despite kettle and cups provided. Breakfast was a laugh, only eggs offered for hot dish. No chair in room. No where to relax in the hotel. Supposed to be a half price deal but a big rip off. Health and safety ought to be on to this one!!! Nothing Opulent at all!

Room Tip: Do Not Use This Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#278 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#693 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#116 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#140 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#410 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#326 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opulence Central London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opulence Central London

Property: Opulence Central London
Address: 47 Gloucester Place, London W1U 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#400 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,527 - ₹ 13,156
Hotel Class:4 star — Opulence Central London 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Opulence Central London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opulence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing