We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #47 of 568 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for one night last week. Asked for a ground floor room and got one which was great as most london hotels have no lifts. Hotel in a great area, about 10 mins from Euston or St pancras station and only 5-10 minutes from Oxford Street. There are also a few restuarants round about. We arrived about 11am and asked if we could leave our bags, but were delighted to be told our room was ready from the friendly receptionist. They do not do breakfasts but there is a cafe below hotel or a few more nearby that do. The only thing that let the Hotel down in our opinion is that there was no kettles/coffee tea in the rooms which is normally unheard for a hotel (even Travelodges do it). I am sure we are not the only people who like a cup of cofee or tea on arrival, before bedtime and first thing in the morning. The least they can do is put a kettle in TV room with tea, coffee and milk, what a difference it would make. Overall great value at £70 a night

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizzy_600_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    254
    115
    33
    29
See reviews for
158
126
82
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We sayed at The St Athans hotel for one night at very short notice. Rate was very good and resonable. Receptionist was very friendly when we phoned them. We booked a family room, which was at the top of the house, which had a shared bathroom which was very clean. Room was spotless. When arriving the front door area was very welcoming with lovely fresh flowers on the table. Staff very very friendly. Had a lovely lille T V lounge. The Bloomsbury Coffee shop in the basement was very nice indeed. Will definatley stay there again. Excellent for any one on a budget ans very convenient for Russel Square tube station which is less than a five minute walk.

Room Tip: If you have a disability ask for a ground floor room as I don't think there is any lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etjrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

St.Athans Hotel is a very good choice in the center of London. You find good prices, so that you can spend the rest of your money in London- instead of spending it on an expensive room....The people running the hotel are very friendly and helpful, at any time . Breakfast is offered in a nice, cosy place,fresh yoghurt, homemade muffins and typical english breakfast is delicious and all you need to survive the day in London. Beds are -depending on what room you are in- ok or even comfortable.... The bathrooms are perfectly clean, and sharing them with the other hotel guests is no problem. You will always find a spare bathroom on one of the floors.....and climbing up and down the stairs is fun. I really liked the sound of the stairs and the "old english hotel feeling" you find around every corner....Worth trying it!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

If staying at this hotel try to arrange a room in the main building. We were in an ajoining building and had to go to the main building to use WIFI. Breakfast was typical English fare and very delicious. I would like to stay again just for the breakfast. Our room was small, like most european hotels, but very clean and same for the shared baths in the hall.
The hotel staff our very friendly and helped us with directions and printing our boarding passes for flights to Scotland. The only negitives are the separate building and small room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ86351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here in September 2011 with my Boyfriend for two nights. The rooms were small. Bed, small wardrobe and a sink, and hardly any floor space at all. The shared bathroom was very clean, and there was never any problems waiting to use it. Jut had a bathtub - no shower on our floor, but the floor upstairs had a shower and we could use it also.

The breakfast was the highlight of the stay - the full english was amazing, and filled me up for ages! The stafff were very helpful, by letting us store our luggage until the room was available, and also setting up an early breakfast for us, as we left at 7am.

It is a budget hotel, and is ideal if you are not spending any time in the room other than to sleep! It is convienently located and very reasonable for a hotel in London. The room was clean, however did not have A/C. Whilst we were there it was really hot, and the window only opens a teeny bit - so it was quite hot in the room. But, It served the purpose as a place to stay in between sight seeing!

Not for you if you want a luxury room. But if we were on a budget in London again, we would definatley stay at St Athens again :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 568 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#71 of 568 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#23 of 568 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#263 of 568 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#79 of 568 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#75 of 568 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Property: St. Athans Hotel
Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 8,977
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ostrovok, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing