We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #25 of 580 London B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for one night last week. Asked for a ground floor room and got one which was great as most london hotels have no lifts. Hotel in a great area, about 10 mins from Euston or St pancras station and only 5-10 minutes from Oxford Street. There are also a few restuarants round about. We arrived about 11am and asked if we could leave our bags, but were delighted to be told our room was ready from the friendly receptionist. They do not do breakfasts but there is a cafe below hotel or a few more nearby that do. The only thing that let the Hotel down in our opinion is that there was no kettles/coffee tea in the rooms which is normally unheard for a hotel (even Travelodges do it). I am sure we are not the only people who like a cup of cofee or tea on arrival, before bedtime and first thing in the morning. The least they can do is put a kettle in TV room with tea, coffee and milk, what a difference it would make. Overall great value at £70 a night

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kizzy_600_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 270 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We sayed at The St Athans hotel for one night at very short notice. Rate was very good and resonable. Receptionist was very friendly when we phoned them. We booked a family room, which was at the top of the house, which had a shared bathroom which was very clean. Room was spotless. When arriving the front door area was very welcoming with lovely fresh flowers on the table. Staff very very friendly. Had a lovely lille T V lounge. The Bloomsbury Coffee shop in the basement was very nice indeed. Will definatley stay there again. Excellent for any one on a budget ans very convenient for Russel Square tube station which is less than a five minute walk.

Room Tip: If you have a disability ask for a ground floor room as I don't think there is any lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etjrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

St.Athans Hotel is a very good choice in the center of London. You find good prices, so that you can spend the rest of your money in London- instead of spending it on an expensive room....The people running the hotel are very friendly and helpful, at any time . Breakfast is offered in a nice, cosy place,fresh yoghurt, homemade muffins and typical english breakfast is delicious and all you need to survive the day in London. Beds are -depending on what room you are in- ok or even comfortable.... The bathrooms are perfectly clean, and sharing them with the other hotel guests is no problem. You will always find a spare bathroom on one of the floors.....and climbing up and down the stairs is fun. I really liked the sound of the stairs and the "old english hotel feeling" you find around every corner....Worth trying it!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If staying at this hotel try to arrange a room in the main building. We were in an ajoining building and had to go to the main building to use WIFI. Breakfast was typical English fare and very delicious. I would like to stay again just for the breakfast. Our room was small, like most european hotels, but very clean and same for the shared baths in the hall.
The hotel staff our very friendly and helped us with directions and printing our boarding passes for flights to Scotland. The only negitives are the separate building and small room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZ86351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here in September 2011 with my Boyfriend for two nights. The rooms were small. Bed, small wardrobe and a sink, and hardly any floor space at all. The shared bathroom was very clean, and there was never any problems waiting to use it. Jut had a bathtub - no shower on our floor, but the floor upstairs had a shower and we could use it also.

The breakfast was the highlight of the stay - the full english was amazing, and filled me up for ages! The stafff were very helpful, by letting us store our luggage until the room was available, and also setting up an early breakfast for us, as we left at 7am.

It is a budget hotel, and is ideal if you are not spending any time in the room other than to sleep! It is convienently located and very reasonable for a hotel in London. The room was clean, however did not have A/C. Whilst we were there it was really hot, and the window only opens a teeny bit - so it was quite hot in the room. But, It served the purpose as a place to stay in between sight seeing!

Not for you if you want a luxury room. But if we were on a budget in London again, we would definatley stay at St Athens again :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#36 of 580 in London
247 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#14 of 580 in London
808 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#8 of 580 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 580 in London
589 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#42 of 580 in London
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: ₹ 5,431 - ₹ 10,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel, Bloomsbury, is a simple, eco-friendly, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. It’s A grade II listed 200 year old Georgian terraced houses, retains many of its their original features, fitting in well with the historic area, and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London, Covent Garden and the new British Library. We’re also only a short bus ride away from many major the attractions, such as of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres, bars, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing