We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,155)
Filter reviews
5,155 results
Traveller rating
3,377
1,442
236
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,377
1,442
236
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast bag paper bag old street tube station yogurt fresh milk in the fridge great hotel cool hotel brick lane free wifi spitalfields market northern line great shower little touches rooms are small comfy bed bars and restaurants quiet room
Filter
Updating list...
2,410 - 2,415 of 5,155 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the Hoxton on our European Honeymoon in May 2012. It was great value for money, in a fantastic location. It was walking distance to Old Street tube station, within minutes you were in the centre of London. The rooms were quite small, but adequate for what you needed, we really only slept here and were out most of the day. The free breakfast in the morning was great, it was quick and suited us as we were up early and sightseeing most of the day. The restaurants surrounding the area were good if you wanted an alternative to the hotel restaurant. The restaurant was food was good, and it had a very lively atmosphere. It looked like most locals would come here for a drink after work, or to start off here before a night out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at the Hoxton over a 3-night weekend in early March because we had business nearby in the City. The hotel is in an otherwise out-of-the-way location in a sleazy area. It takes a good while to get to the West End or Knightsbridge, especially when there is heavy traffic congestion (which is much of the time).

Whether it represents value for money depends on what you are paying. For our 3 nights the price of the room varied by almost two to one (from £79 to £149). At the lower rate, one wouldn't argue, but at the higher one there are definitely better places to be.

The reception-bar-cafe area on the ground floor is very noisy in the evening, with loud pop music drowning out conversation & meaningful thought. There was also sustained loud conversation in our corridor just outside our door over one night - a couple of instances between 3 and 4 a.m.

Our room was cold, and the setting on the room's thermostat bore scant relation to what actually happened in the room. The bedding was inadequate, so we had to request additional blankets for the second and third night. The breakfast we ordered one morning was not delivered, though that fault was put right quickly enough. Parts of the storage spaces had not been properly cleaned, so we had to do some dusting ourselves.

Overall, a mixed business, and we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, make sure you get a room high up in order to avoid lower-level noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyGriffin, General Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hi RossManchester,

Thanks for your review. Here at the Hox, like our guests, we like to be relaxed. However there are some things we take very seriously: value for money, a fantastic night's sleep, fab shower, great atmosphere in the lobby, squeaky clean rooms, and great service. We were sorry to read your stay was a mixed bag. The team would love to see you back at the Hox, and know you'll be converted! Drop us a line at timothy@thehox.com and we'll take care of the rest.

With thanks,

Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

As nice as the bedrooms are, with their welcome little touches, this hotel is all about the atmosphere. A great place to meet, eat, or just hang out in the open plan reception area, lounge, bar and grill. Enjoys a great location in the anti-cool coolness of Shoreditch, walking distance from Spitalfields market and the business district for business travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFCLeisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I had a lovely time in the Hoxton. The room was nice with a very comfortable bed and everything was clean. Eventhough it was very busy in the restaurant and the hotel bar, in the room everything was nice and quiet! the metro is right around the corner and you can even take a bus to oxfordstreet and be the tourist if you really want to.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor, there was no noise whatsoever from the famous and trendy hotel bar. It might be different in the summer if you want to sleep with the windows open.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had booked the Hoxton to celebrate a 60th birthday for around 50 people and then to stay over that night. We had planned it with their staff who manage functions down to each detail. They were were happy to adjust specification and to do what ever it took to set the event up properly. On the night our guests turned up and were allocated a section of the wide front area of the hotel with a bespoke waitress who looked after them. Both James and Michael oversaw the event with the right balance of regular chats with us to confirm that all was well and leaving us alone to get on with the celebration. The food was served on a rolling basis so that it was hot and people could enjoy it at its best. They decorated our birthday cakes that we had brought with us and served them at a good point in proceedings. Afterwards everyone we spoke to said how much they had enjoyed it.
The hotel side of it was just as good. The room was in excellent shape - confortable and functional. We enjoyed our free breakfast that were left hanging on the little hook outside the room at the agreed time.
The entire experience was first rate. All staff were on the ball - reception, waiter/waitress, managers. I am happy to strongly recommend the Hoxton.

Room Tip: The back is quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews