We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just short of excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #103 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just short of excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Booked over Jubilee wkd on a recommendation. Really great place to stay. Smart but comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Room ticked all but one box.... it had a connecting door and that meant we were disturbed by the other occupants (family with small kids). Not the family's fault. Hoxton, very keen to take on board. Just check when you book a room that it doesn't have a connecting door. Just cant fault the stay otherwise, and would stay again :-)

Room Tip: Just the connecting room issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scattybirdanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,776
    1,258
    180
    54
    33
See reviews for
420
2,033
296
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Although we stay in London frequently, ths was the first time at the hoxton and will not be the last. The rooms are small but have everything you need with free telephone calls, great light breakfast and clean bathrooms. Food was fantastic and you have the great choice of drinking downstairs or sleeping soundly upstairs. Downstairs is party central on friday night which may not suit everybody. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saskiacromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Overall a great stay for four nights. The rooms are very small I felt but reasonably practical.
The hotel has a great vibe downstairs near the lobby and the bar. I just loved sitting down there for hours and chatting to people from all over. The hotel has free wifi so a beer and a laptop plus the great atmosphere were very cool.

Not a real business hotel, but the location is good near Spitalfield markets and it made up for it.

Will stay here again soon!

Room Tip: Probably not facing the courtyard in summer due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

After staying at the Hoxton when I visited London in June 2011, it never occurred to me to look anywhere else for London accomodation for this year's visit.
The Hoxton is simply a wonderful hotel.
And the simplicity is part of what makes it so wonderful.
I'm looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Ganley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband often stays at this hotel whilst in London on work but I accompanied him for his birthday weekend. Really liked the welcoming entrance with the fireplaces and comfy seats, and enjoyed a nice drink in the bar.

As for the room, it wasn't be biggest but had everything we needed and was pretty cool. Liked the fact that the first hour of UK phonecalls is free. The only problem was the bed. My husband suffers from back pain and the bed didn't help - he didn't get a good sleep this time at all, although on previous visits this wasn't s much of a problem.

Liked the look of the restaurant but didn't eat there. Enjoyed the brekkie in a bag - a good way to keep costs down whilst enjoying a small snack in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#77 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#323 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#286 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#100 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,679 - ₹ 33,503
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS and Ostrovok so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing