We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with access to a 25m pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #93 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I love this hotel and the other reviews say it all. A few things to add after my second stay here: The showers are big (huge by London standards). The Hoxton has an agreement with a gym about 2 blocks away that gives guests access to their pool and other facilities. The pool is is a full 25 meters and has a suit spinner. It is only 3 lanes and a little dark but overall fine. The locker room and exercise machines are nice.

If you want a south facing view, try to get an odd-numbered room between 01-25 on the 4th (401-425), 5th (501-525), or 6th floors (601-625). The even rooms (02-24) face the courtyard which can be loud on weekend nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibbonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,971 - 2,975 of 4,828 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spacious, comfortable room (even space for a chaise longue!) - nice and quiet, despite being above a busy bar and restaurant. Love the breakfast in a bag which was plenty to keep us going til lunchtime. The fresh milk in the fridge was also a great touch. They really seem to have thought of every detail (even a half decent hairdryer!). My only slight suggestion for improvement would be more English Breakfast tea bags in the room - two is not enough! Having said that, we were kindly supplied with 2 extra when we left a note.

The staff were super friendly. We ate in the Hoxton Grill downstairs a couple of times and the food was lovely. The bar/grill area is a really nice space with exposed brick and open fires giving it that urban lodge feel. There's also a nice outside courtyard space. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Hoxton Hotel on a sunday night for a very reasonable rate. We were welcomed warmly by a very friendly FOH member of staff. The room was a decent size and was clean. Great little extras much appreciated included fresh milk and a breakfast pack. The hairdryer in the room was handy too. The bathroom was great and again, very clean. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well at all as we found the pillows uncomfortable -(unsupportive feather pillows) but I appreciate this is down to personal taste. Our friends staying in a different room also felt the same. There was also a lot of door banging from the corridors outside in the morning which disturbed us. We would return again but maybe with earplugs and a travel pillow!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppetcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Hoxton is a modern, relaxed, warm and hospitable hotel in a vibrant neighbourhood. Nice places to eat and drink nearby (or downstairs in bar or lounge area with fireplace) and the tube not far either. Clean rooms (all the same space) and very friendly staff. From time to time they give out rooms for 1 GBP is a flash sale (not many though, I think). Would definitely go back next time in London.

Room Tip: take a room on a higher floor for a great view and urban feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citytrips889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed at the Hoxton for three nights from 23 - 26 March 2012 and weren't disappointed. We have stayed there previously and it was just as good this time as the last time we were there. Our room was facing into the courtyard so we weren't bothered by any noise from the street. It was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from other guests. The rooms are not massive but very clean and the beds are comfy, there is free internet, tea making facilities, a safe and a fridge with a small carton of milk and two bottles of water which are replenished free each day. The bathrooms are quite spacious with a lovely powerful shower (and the mirror doesn't steam up!). The staff are very pleasant and cheery and nothing is too much bother for them. You can buy a bottle of beer from reception for £1.25 or a half bottle of wine for £5.25 and a can of coke etc costs 50p. It is a pity more hotels don't charge similar prices instead of ripping people off with ridiculous mini bar prices. Breakfast is left outside your door at a time that suits you and consists of a pret a manger yoghurt, a bottle of orange juice and a banana - a very healthy option.
The hotel is a five minute walk from Old Street tube station so is in a very handy spot. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely use the Hoxton again.

Room Tip: If you a a light sleeper ask for a room at the back facing the courtyard as I imagine the ones on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#387 of 1,076 in London
1,116 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,076 in London
1,745 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#121 of 1,076 in London
695 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#562 of 1,076 in London
84 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,076 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,253 - ₹ 18,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing