We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value--still...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Ranked #573 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Engelhartszell, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value--still...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We spent about one week at the St Marks last July. The building is impressive on the outside, and provides a good idea of Victorian living on the inside. The staff was polite and helpful, and the location good for quick access to the tube and exploring Islington and adjacent areas. The apartment we rented was very spacious and well furnished, and the kitchen was new and nicely equipped. It was a relief to have internet access included in the price, for once!

On the negative side, the internet access (by cable) was installed in such an awkward place that we had to bow more than half way to the floor when working on our laptops, and the connection was at times painfully slow. Also, the apartment was in clear need of (cosmetic) renovations, although the overall impression was still good.

Overall--still a good bargain for space and location, with some setbacks (which could be easily fixed) that could matter to business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krugerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Krigerfriend,

First of all thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Citadines St Mark’s.

Thank you for your nice comments about the staff and facilities that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and until then we send you our very best wishes.

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    111
    54
    26
    7
See reviews for
136
43
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Nice area with a bus stop in front of the hotel and not far away from St Pancras, tube station and shopping place (food, clothes,...).
We have been disappointed about the apartment which was not very cosy, different than the pictures of the web site and with stains on the bedroom carpet.
Kitchen well equipped as well as the two bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenMacBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Steven MacBlade,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

This place was to be temporary housing for several weeks while we searched for something more permanent. during our transfer to London from the States We went with this place because the photos looked nice and they allowed pets.
Upon arrival, I was crushed. Once past the lobby, everything about this place screamed "clean me, paint me."
Our room reeked of stale cooking. The carpet in the bedrooms were disgusting and covered with food/beverage stains and were filthy. The walls were all scuffed and dirty and I mean scuffs were no furniture could have even reached. The drapes had pink food or beverage stains on them. The hall bath shower looked as if the ceiling were on the verge of collapsing. The shower tiles had been half re-grouted. The other half looked to be stained with old red mold. I couldn't even stay one night. We got online (which had a horrible wifi connection) and were finally able to find something else for a few nights. Our relocation company found us something else that was much nicer, allowed pets and was not much more in price. If you want clean, I suggest you keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank arrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Arrtx,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

great hotel, rooms a bit small but very modern and clean. staff where lovely, will return as it was great value for money!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — It was comfortable, modern and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kellye4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed here recently for a week while we were in London on vacation.
POSITIVES: Great location - only a short walk from the Angel Tube station. Near a commercial area with shopping, restaurants, etc. There was an internet cafe across the street and two small groceries/convenience stores across the street and down the block. Spacious apartment with two bedrooms, living room, kitchen, laundry and two bathrooms. Relatively clean. Excellent customer service, 24/7. Building was very quiet - did not see or hear other residents very often.
NEGATIVES: We booked this hotel for its facilities, including laundry, since we were going to be in U.K. for two weeks with four people. The washer and dryer never worked properly, took forever and discolored some of our clothes. Cleaning services and clean towels are only provided once a week. No cable so TV choices were limited. Room was fairly noisy since it overlooked major street - street lights shined into bedrooms.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tosanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Tosanel,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#448 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#187 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#580 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines St Mark's-Islington London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Property: Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Address: St. Mark's Apartments 300 City Road, London EC1V 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#333 Business Hotel in London
#343 Family Hotel in London
#345 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,433 - ₹ 20,110
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines St Mark's-Islington London 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines St Mark's-Islington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks, London Hotel London
St Marks Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing