We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Ranked #588 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Apartment was very spacious and comfortable. All appliances operated well, including the spacious strongbox (safe).

Angel tube stop is less than 10 minute's walk. Bus stop (west bound on City Road) is about 50 meters from the entrance. Was not happy with the extra 60£ per day service fee.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk to your room, and some apartments are in an attached building where a short fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapinDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear CapinDFW,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    100
    44
    24
    7
See reviews for
124
39
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

St. Marks was a little more expensive than other comparable places we've stayed in London - but in terms of location and what you get for your money, it really is worth it.

The apartments are located in Islington which turned out to be my favourite part of London by far. St. Mark's is about a 3 minute walk to Angel tube station, which is surrounded by restaurants and little boutique shops.

The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was beautiful. Very clean, very spacious with a kitchen, two bathrooms and a large living area. The room also had a washing machine and dryer.

The front desk is manned until quite late at night - we never arrived home after a night out with nobody to welcome us, so I imagine late check-ins wouldn't be a problem. The apartment complex is also situated opposite both a mini-mart and an internet cafe which was especially handy.

One thing to consider is that the rooms aren't serviced while you are there - or at least this was the case when we stayed for our 7 days. This may be a service available at an extra charge.

I'd definitely stay here again, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Chris,,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nothing much of the luxury apartments here. Old Victorian style, needs renovation, tired bedlinen and towels. Extremely noisy with road vehicle noise, no double glazing, no curtains, broken blinds, shower over bath.....

Room Tip: View the room first, don't pick one close to City Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Jim L,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I are staying here as temporary housing while looking for a permanent residency (we are relocating to London from the US) for the next several weeks. And while, yes, the staff are very polite and accommodating, there are some serious issues with the building itself. For example, within my first week the dryer was clogged and could not dry clothes, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; the hot water stopped working, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; there were no instructions for the oven and--as our welcome book suggested--we called reception but THEY didn't know how to operate it, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; there is no air conditioning so we had to specially request a fan in the unseasonably warm weather--but it couldn't be sent until the following day, leaving a night drenched in sweat. Several issues we have dealt with were simple (the dryer, the fan, the oven) and could have easily been taken care of BEFORE we arrived if they performed due diligence and checked their appliances etc.

Their "welcome package" is subpar compared to other residential options we were given (I regret not choosing them now!). The package contained a couple instant coffees, tea bags, dish soap, a sponge, and gel packs for laundry. You will most certainly need to go grocery shopping if you plan on staying awhile, and note that while you get a couple pots and a pan, you have no baking dishes.

Additional things to consider include:
1) Each apartment has a different layout. There were some issues with our first apartment, and so the second apartment we were given was a much better layout for us and what we wanted. Don't be afraid to ask if they have another option at which you may look.

2) Although my apartment didn't face the street, it was very easy to hear street noises. Coming from a city, this does not annoy us so much, but it may annoy other patrons (bring earplugs?). That said, I rarely heard anyone in the building.

3) The mattress and pillows leave something to be desired.

4) Be aware that it is an old building with long, winding halls. If walking is an issue for you, I'd suggest requesting an apartment closer to the entrance. I had to walk quite a bit to my apartment.

While I'm certainly not expecting a five-star hotel, I expect the basic amenities to be there and functioning with relative ease--especially if they advertise themselves to be perfect temporary lodging for business executives.

Room Tip: Top floor (3) has lovely skylights--my apartment had two and there are several in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aalynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Aalynia,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about

Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Traveling to Europe is always expensive because of the Euro to Dollar exchange rate, but London is such a great destination it has history and modern attractions, it well deserved some of our vacation time and money. We stayed for the whole week at the St. Marks Hotel which provides good looking and well located accommodations at an affordable price. I read a comment about the carpeting but I can’t remember them, so I can’t comment on that. Sorry.
We loved the building and the great view it offered from the outside, and the rooms were clean enough and well equipped. The kitchenette saved us some good money because we could do some meals specially lunch and breakfast and we could keep some fresh food in the room for a late night snack and the internet connection was good and included in the price. The units had a great and spacious space to move in, and we had really rested after hours of walking throughout the city.
We always look for well located hotels because transportation in Europe is expensive so we use public services like the trains and buses and the soo English tube. The St. Marks has to be one of the best located hotels in that city, we could come and go at will, walking distance to everything you should need, restaurants, and shops and of course a tube station we used to get everywhere we wanted. So convenient.
Staff was friendly and helpful and nice. We enjoyed our stay very much and will remember our trip to London for a long long time, and although we did get to visit most of it, I would definitely go back and revisit some of my favorite attractions again, I will go back to the St Marks Hotel anytime.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arischeridan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Arischeridan,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#393 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#223 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines St Mark's-Islington London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Property: Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Address: St. Mark's Apartments 300 City Road, London EC1V 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#333 Business Hotel in London
#343 Luxury Hotel in London
#343 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,210 - ₹ 20,419
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines St Mark's-Islington London 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Citadines St Mark's-Islington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks, London Hotel London
St Marks Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing