We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the encounter”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #332 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Rockwell is in short a stylishly decorated tramp looking good on the outside but quite distasteful on the inside. The single rooms are the size of a fridge (true, usual in London), there was a hole in the wall size of a watermellon behind my bed, the heating/aircon is a problem, the bed mattress is far too soft, there are not even the custom tea and coffee facilities in the room which always make up for the lack of space, the location is remote set on the busy Cromwell Road just about as far from Earls Court as from Gloucester Road tube and the staff - oh my God - the staff is unbelievably rude. Upon arrival I asked the front desk to kindly shorten my expected stay by one night - was refused and instantly charged for the whole stay regardeless if I will be checked out already or not. When I complained that this has never happened to me (no shows ok, but alterations while in...) I got the most hillarious responce I ever heard: "well, everything must be once for a first time". After 11 hours in flight from Los Angeles hearing this with as strong polish accent from a unsympathetic guy was really really painful. Ended up paying for a night I spend outside the UK already. Anyway in short, just do not bother to engage with this tramp, there are plenty of better choices in the area, even the Citadines Prestige is better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliusjulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Guest Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

The Rockwell does charge for nights that are not cancelled at least 48 hours in advance. This is in line with the cancellation policy of the hotel and this is a policy that is shared throughout the hotel industry.

We appreciate that this could have been better handled by the receptionist and that after a long flight this is unwelcome news.

The single rooms are quite small but are fairly priced as a consequence. We do have much larger rooms in the hotel, which we would have been happy to relocate you to.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that should you decide to return to The Rockwell we can make your stay a more enjoyable one.

Regards, The Rockwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Small rooms, but the location is excellent and easy to get to and from Heathrow.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivananda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our deluxe doubles are much larger than the single rooms and are very suitable for longer stays.
Regards, Fred Bartlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Not too far from the city center, close to 2 major underground lines, lies The Rockwell. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is very clean and beautiful, a cosy place to stay and the 'Full English' is great in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your comments about breakfast and the location.
Regards, Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

As far as London hotels go this is outstanding value. Tastefully styled, clean, comfortable and warm. The only serious complaints you could make about it are that the rooms are very small. The staff are all as helpful as you would expect, if a little cold on occasion. The area is not particularly exciting, but the tube is close and there are plenty of cabs nearby. recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your comments about the value of our rooms. The single rooms are small however the deluxe doubles are much larger.
The area is Earls Court in Kensington. It is a great base form which to explore London as a tourist. The V and A, Science Museum and Natural History museum are withing walking distance as are Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.
You rightly point out that it is also well connected to The City and Heathrow via tube.

Many thanks for your overwhelmingly supportive review.

Regards, Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for one night in a single room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was of a high standard, the shower could of been abit more powerful but hey its London! The location was central within walking distance of shops, pubs, bars, restraunts and the tube. Would stay here again good value for central London.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#266 of 1,077 in London
1,621 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#312 of 1,077 in London
715 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,077 in London
274 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#364 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in London
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 7,807 - ₹ 13,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing