We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and good value”
Review of Tudor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Court Hotel
Ranked #814 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We chose this hotel for all the positive feedback from TripAdvisor reviewers, and I must say we were not disappointed. As advertised, the location is indeed perfect, but not just for the train/tube station (though to be any closer to Paddington Station you would have to be staying at the Hilton). Norfolk Square is a quiet enough neighbourhood (and it should be, as we're not very far from St. Mary's Hospital) so the odds are you will be able to sleep soundly at night (I know we did). But since the area is not strictly residential, not far from the Square, there's actually plenty to choose from if you're looking for dinner or a drink at the pub or if you're looking for a late-night convenience store. We found that the location is perfect because of this combination of access / quiet / amenities. Also, Hyde Park is a stone's throw!
I hesitate to call 113£ per a "cheap rate", but if you consider the market and what I've just said about the location I guess it's really not that harsh (there's a lot of competition around the whole Paddington area, so I guess they would have to be fools to try to rip people off).
A word to those reviewers complaining about the rooms being tiny: when you booked you probably saw (as we did) the room described as "compact", aka. tiny! No surprise here, you're supposed to sleep there, not jog in it. If you want to stretch your legs when up in your room, and don't mind paying triple or more, maybe you should try a suite at the Hilton. For us, our compact/tiny room was perfectly adequate for what we needed it for: to rest after a hard day's "touristing".
Service was ok, we were warmly greeted upon arrival and given all manner of useful informations, breakfast was your typical B&B "what can I get you" kind of deal (though we prefer the buffet, but it was adequate). One (very) small remark: the ladies attending at breakfast could be a bit more mindful of guests having just woken up and should try to not bang the cutlery on the tables when setting them (yes, this trifle was really all that we noted as negative in our stay).
Bottom line, do stay here! Don't expect a room where you can throw a party at, just one you'll sleep well in. Enjoy the great location!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Owner at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for the review posted on the 10th July.

It was a pleasure reading such positive and realistic review of our establishment regarding the location, amenities and our level of service.

Regarding your comments about the noiseness of the cutlery when it was laid on the table. We have made our staff aware of your concern.

Once again thank you for your such positive feedback. It is reviews like these that make our day.

Warm regards


Connan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Tudor Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 266 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Tiny tiny room but well designed, clean and at a great price. Short walk to Paddington but on a leafy square away from the bustle of the busy streets nearby. Good choice for those coming in on Heathrow Express trains. Breakfast pleasant enough. Don't stay here if you are claustrophobic or need stairs.

Room Tip: The compact rooms are truly tiny--think of a camper! (or "caravan" to you Commonweath folk...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

I am pleased we were able to meet most of the guest’s expectations. Space in London is at a premium, the size of our rooms is very much the norm in this area for our classification of hotel.

We don’t have a lift and are not able to provide this service, as the hotel (made of 2 Victorian town houses) was built for the gentry in the mid 19th Century. There were no provisions made for lifts when the buildings were constructed. Additionally as these are listed buildings (protected under English Heritage), we are not permitted to install lifts.

Kind regards

Connan Gupta
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

First of all, the location is superb with the tube more or less outside the door (check google maps). Many good "tourist" lines go from there, it is very easy to navigate the tube once you get the hang of it.

Service was excellent, very friendly staff all around. Check was great, especially if you haven't been to London before. You get many good tips and a map which is very useful. Rooms were cleaned every day and they did a great job at it indeed.

Rooms are ok in size, it's not like you're going to have a party with 20 people in there anyway right? Bathroom was small, yes, however very clean and functional. More or less a cruiseship bathroom. Anyway, you shouldn't be put of by it and let that be a dealbreaker. Don't worry, rooms are just fine.

Breakfast was ok, not a buffe but if thats your thing you have to pay a LOT more for that in another hotel. Kind staff and fast service in the breakfastroom. A tip; you can order scrambled eggs if you like ;)

All in all it was a good stay and if we go back to London we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christerjonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you to the guest for writing such a lovely review. We are pleased to have met the guest’s expectations. It was wonderful to read the guest’s impressions of our service both at the point of check in and during their stay with us.

We are constantly improving our service, our dedicated team appreciates this feedback and we look forward to welcoming this guest once again in the future.

Connan Gupta
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Location was great I have to admit that, but the management was rude. The room was not very big at all and I could hear the people through the wall at the hotel beside us. It was clean, and provided breakfast. The staff was nice even though the management acted like that. I would recommend for a short stay. For the price and location it was good.

Room Tip: Get a double or queen bed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TSwihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Owner at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Tudor Court Hotel on Tripadvisor. This is the first time a guest has mentioned hearing people from the next hotel. If there are noise disturbances, we kindly request guests to contact reception (especially at night) so that we can investigate the nature of the disruption.

I am disappointed the guest felt the management was rude. It’s true on certain occasions running a busy hotel requires firmness. I can assure that all our staff are treated with the utmost respect and they enjoy working within this busy family run hotel.

We are thankful for the positive observations concerning the good service received by our dedicated staff. We also thank the guest for the comments about the price of the room and the location. We believe we offer excellent value for money given our unbeatable location and level of service.

Connan Gupta
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Only a stones throw from Paddington Station means the Heathrow Paddington express is very convenient. Our first room was in the basement but have to admit it was claustrophobic and a bit smelly but we spoke to reception and they immediately upgraded us to a larger more pleasant room, albeit on the top floor, the downside to this is there is no lift. But this is not a complaint because the room was clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. As well as been close to the train station, the hop on hop off departs from the corner of the street giving access to the whole of London and Hyde Park is just across the road. Breakfast was included which is always nice when traveling. The only let down was minor, when we booked the hotel advertised free wifi but they had changed service providers and it was no longer free, but the staff acknowledged this and gave us the password for free wifi but it was not accessible in the room - but this isn't an issue that affected our stay. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Owner at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you to the guest for posting the review on Tripadvisor on the 21st June.

Every Thursday (for the last 21 years) Mr Gupta has been cooking Indian vegetable rice for the homeless community. The cooking takes place in the hotel between 11am to 7pm every Thursday. The smell of the food does permeate the whole building. We do notify our guests of this charitable deed, so we ask for everyone’s understanding in this matter. I believe this was reason for the comment of “smelly room”.

The hotel was built in the mid eighteenth century and so no provisions were made for a lift. Apart from the lack of space to house a lift, the building is listed and so we are constrained by English Heritage.

We are glad that we were able to meet the guest’s expectations regarding helpfulness of our staff (which is always a pleasure to hear), location, proximity to Paddington Station and amenities both sightseeing and Hyde Park.

I am grateful for the understanding to do with our Wi-Fi. We really needed to offer our guests a more suitable and superior quality Wi-Fi. This allows are guests to use up to 2 devices simultaneously together with new features such as streaming programmes. Also this service is far more reliable and backed up with 24/7 telephone helpline.

Once again many thanks for the overwhelmingly positive comments and we look forward to welcoming this reviewer back.

Warm Regards

Connan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. David's Hotels
#656 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#665 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#645 of 1,072 in London
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#430 of 1,072 in London
1,060 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#659 of 1,072 in London
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Hotel

Address: 10-12 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #814 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,898 - ₹ 13,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Court Hotel, nestled in the heart of London, with easy access to all the major sights and Heathrow airport is the ideal location for business or pleasure. We are one minute's walk from Paddington Station. The Tudor Court Hotel at Paddington has clean, modern rooms to suit all budgets. Recently refurbished, these are ideal for both tourist and business use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tudor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Court London
Hotel Tudor Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing