We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than you think...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Ranked #634 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have used this hotel on numerous occasions and whilst the staff do their best they don't always get it right. Saying that, the location of the hotel is great, the large meeting rooms are perfect and the rates for both DD and rooms are very reasonable.

The food can be hit and miss. What I would say is that if the carvery is on (used when the hotel is busy) then you will get a very good meal, however it can be a little hit and miss if you eat from the menu. Saying that there were 7 of us and all our meals were fine (mainly steak and salads). Breakfast is the usual continental and full english buffet with lots of choice - very good

The bedrooms are getting to the point of needing a refurbishment although this shouldn't put you off and they are clean, with good beds and everything you'd expect. It's just the wall paper is a little dirty and the rooms are generally dated. The air conditioning is poor

The public spaces are fine, the carpark is large and secure and there is a small swimming pool although I've never used it.

All in all, not a bad place to stay or to use for an event

Room Tip: Check your air conditioning works before unpacking!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of this hotel on the Trip Advisor website. It is always enjoyable to read constructive feedback of the hotel from guests who have stayed with us.

I have noted all of the points from your review and will ensure that they are passed on to the hotel team and/ or dealt with as appropriate.

With the recent chnageable weather it has been challenging to maintain a balance between heating and cooling the hotel to counter the conditions outside. I am sorry that you found it difficult to regulate the temperature in your bedroom during your stay. We are due to have refurbishment works on our air-handling systems during 2012 which should make things easier and more comfortable for all.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London-Elstree in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London - Elstree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stay here two or three nights per month when working in London. The hotel is adequate at best. The rooms are getting tired. The breakfast is kept warm for far too long. OK if you like hard fried eggs, old cooked bacon, overcooked black pudding, overcooked sausages. If you want to eat in the hotel at night and you aint on expenses, dont eat there. McDonalds standards at good hotel prices and, sadly, this isnt a good hotel. You would think that for a hotel which caters mainly for people with business in and around London, that Sky sports would be available at least in the bar to watch games. Sadly, its terrestrial channels or some freeview. Going to suggest to work that they find another hotel to put us up in when we have to go down there, perhaps the Marriott at St Albans

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humphriesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest

I have noted the feedback that you have provided about this hotel on the Trip adviosr website. It appears from your review that you are a regular guest and I would like to thank you for your loyalty.

I am sorry that you feel disappointed with certain aspects of your experience during your stay. We would very much like to have more information on the points you have rasied so that we can look at taking actions to ensure that your can be as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Please would you contact Shae Walmsley, Operations Manager via the main hotel swicthboard who would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you in more detail.

In the meantime, thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London-Elstree.

Kind regards
Kevin Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We needed somewhere to stay overnight to attend a fuction in the vicinity and this Holiday Inn fitted the bill.
We are Priority Club members and used some points to stay, but was disappointed in the extreme to find that breakfast was not included, and I must say that did leave a certain sourness in my mouth and take the edge of the whole experience as far as I was concerned.
That said, the staff were pleasant and had it not been for the fact that I felt somewhat 'conned', I would have rated the hotel as Very Good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce363021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Firstly, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn London-Elstree to redeem a Reward Night. We do value your loyalty as members of our Priority Club Rewards programme. Also, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Trip Advisor website.

I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and in a convenient location and I will make sure that the hotel team are made aware of your positive comment on the service they provided to you.

I am sorry that you were disappointed that your Reward Night was on a room only basis. This is a set standard through the Priority Club Rewards programme and at hotel level we do not have any influence over this. However, we do offer the option of upgrading any room only rates on arrival by purchasing a breakfast voucher which for a couple would be £15.00 (£7.50 per person), a significant saving over the normal per person cost of £13.95 for our full hot buffet breakfast..

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We are Privilege club Plus members and stay in this hotel when visiting family. Discounts are very good, staff are very accommodating and the facilities are excellent. The leisure club is amazing for a Holiday Inn (compared to what you would usually expect from a HI hotel).

The only criticism is the restaurant and menu… We have dined in the hotel restaurant twice. The first time the food was OK, if a little over-priced, and the food took ages to arrive. On the second visit to the restaurant, I ordered the risotto, and it was NOT a risotto. It consisted of long grain rice, spinach and watery cream. Having sent it back my partner had to eat his food on his own. The restaurant staff remedied this and allowed me to choose another main on the menu (fish and chips) which was great, but how wrong can you go with this?!? There is not enough variety on the menu, nor is there anything specific for children. Who wants to eat a salad with strawberries for dinner?! The bar menu is better, although it is little more than a pub menu with £3 extra on top of the normal price…

However, I have to say that the hotel (apart from the restaurant) is great value for money. Sack the chef and get a new menu and you’re on to a winner!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the A1 as traffic is 24/7.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for providing a review of the Holiday Inn london-Elstree on the Trip Advisor website.

Firstly, can I thank you for your loyalty as members of our Privilege Club Plus scheme, I was glad to see that you enjoy coming to this hotel when you are visiting your family members in the area.

I have noted all of the feedback that you have provided, we will always use information like this to improve the service we offer to all of our guests. In particular I will make sure the team members are aware of your positive comments about the service they provide to you, they work very hard to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and it is very encouraging for them when they are told that they are getting it right.

I have also noted your comments regarding the restaurant menu and the particular dinner experience that you have described. I have discussed your review with our Head Chef and both of us are very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. If it would be something you would like to do, Martin Burchmore our Head Chef, would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail when you next visit the hotel. When you are next planning to visit the area if you could make contact with Shae Walmsley our Operations Manager through the main hotel switchboard he will facilitate the arrangements for you.

In the meantime, thank you once again for choosing this hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the North London area.

Kind regards
Kevin Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Reception was disinterested which set a poor open for the hotel. Asked for quiet room and got one facing the A1M. Was informed I paid for the wifi package but not given the access code. No upgrade as a platinum customer but the place was far from packed, unimpressed.

Rooms are clean. Bathroom was fine. Restaurant staff were very good, polite efficient and unobtrusive. Food was quite well done. Breakfast was quite good as well.

Not a new hotel but generally well organised. Specify a quiet room. Ask the receptionist to pay attention, make certain you get what you are meant to and smile and you could do a lot better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neveratrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback about the Holiday Inn London-Elstree on the Trip Advisor website.

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum elite member of our Priority Club Rewards scheme.

Myself and the hotel team are always interested in learning what our customers think of the hotel and use the information as a way of improving the service we offer to all of our guests.

I must sincerely apologise that your welcome experience fell short of our usual standards. At this hotel we do only have a small number of upgradeable rooms and I am sorry that we were unable to upgrade you as we of course would have liked to, and I am sorry that it appears that the receptionist failed to explain this to you at check in.

I hope that you will stay with us again when you are next visiting the area to give us the opportunity to make a better impression on you.

Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn London - Elstree M25, Jct 23
0.4 km away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
1.1 km away
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Travelodge Borehamwood
Travelodge Borehamwood
#4 of 6 in Borehamwood
369 reviews
4.5 km away
Village Hotel London Watford
3.4 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Elstree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Elstree

Address: Barnet By Pass, London WD6 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 5,378 - ₹ 11,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Elstree 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-London Elstree is situated just off the A1, close to both the M25 & M1 motorways and is only 8 miles from the newly rebuilt Wembley Stadium. Elstree and Borehamwood Railway Station is just 2 miles from the hotel making us the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveller, with London Heathrow and London Luton airportswithin just 30 miles of the hotel. The onsite leisure club boasts a range of facilities including an indoor pool, equipped gym, steam room, spa and luxury beauty treatments. All 135 air-conditioned bedrooms at Holiday Inn Elstree provide television with in-house movies, tea and coffee-making facilities, private dial out telephones, laptop safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The meeting facilities are second to none with reliable support services and conference rooms designed for your comfort with 13 meeting and conference rooms with the flexibility to hold either social or business meetings for 2 to 400 persons. All meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Elstree have natural daylight.O'Sullivans Restaurant is an outstanding place to dine, with a variety of tasty dishes to suit all. Alternatively you can chill out in the bar and lounge area. The car park at Holiday Inn London-Elstree has space for up to 300 cars with specialist disabled facilities. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Elstree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Elstree Hotel London
Holiday Inn Borehamwood
Borehamwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing