We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel on the South Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Ranked #213 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel on the South Bank”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a one bedroom suite that was delightful. It was very modern, clean and quite large. It had a kitchen, living room and very large bathroom. The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to the Eye. It has a great restaurant, nice bar and the staff were all lovely. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Paricia M,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

I am glad that you had a great stay with us.

Best regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    263
    87
    46
    32
See reviews for
553
395
68
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

If it were not for the typical English oddities, this review would have begun with a five star rating for this really great five star hotel. While they definitely deliver an experience worthy of a five star hotel, it is the little disappointments that can quickly ruin an otherwise exemplary performance. If the management can rectify that certain lack of attention to detail (e.g. towel racks, batteries in gadgets), Doubletree will be giving Red Carnation a run for their money.
One thing to keep in mind is that there are no major business around the hotel, so unless you don't mind a nice walk such as a brisk 10 minutes to the nearest tube station (Vauxhall), use the cabs waiting in front of the hotel (a big plus!). If, however, a nice walk is your thing, there are plenty of attractions nearby. Even Victoria station isn't out of reach.
In sum, the Plaza suites are clean, well equipped and provide great value.

Room Tip: Use their upsell offers (small additional fees for extra features) when availability is low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gekkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Gekkord,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to our Hotel.

I have shared your comments with the Engineering and Housekeeping Team regarding your comment about the towel rack and batteries. All feedback is being reviewed and actioned accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza on the River Club and Residence in the future, should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Last night in London before flight back to Oz could not have been better. Greeted at door by Concierge who escorted us to the check-in desk, 2 glasses of Moet whilst signing in, brilliant. Self catering apartment top quality and dinner at Chino Latino was excellent. Well placed and within walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Tate Gallery etc. Would not hesitate in staying again on next visit to London.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IloveParis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear lloveParis57,

I hope you had a safe flight back to Australia.

May I take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your rather short stay at Plaza on the River and the Restaurant.
I was delighted to read that your arrival was smooth from the warm welcome from our Concierge Team to the check in.
Your remarks in relation to the staff and hotel are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza on the River Club and Residence in the future, should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We went to see the Jersey boys at the Prince Edward theatre.

We had valet parking which was excellent although this hotel will shortly be losing the car park.

Suites are nice and extremely clean.

Bed soooo comfy and you have evert thing you need.

When we got back from the theatre our bed had been turned down and the bin had been emptied and the towels replaced.
Bathroom facilities are superb as is the linen and towels.
Plenty of toiletries provided.

Lovely complimentary cocktail too and a free continental breakfast for one of you, the other needs to be purchased.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear sanfairyann,

Thank you for your comments.
I am delighted that you found the hotel suited your needs. I will ensure you positive comments are passed on to the Housekeeping Team to appreciate their hard work.

Please feel free to contact the Guest Relations or Concierge Team prior to your next visit, when we can give you information about the nearby parking facilities.

I look forward welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and me had the good fortune to stay at this amazing hotel on the day of the River Pageant had were given a two bedroomed apartment. The apartment's facilities were short of nothing, all the kitchen areas were fully stocked with everything you could wish for. A washing machine, microwave, full crockery and cutlery sets, glassware, pots, pans etc. We were only staying for the one night, and had the good fortune to have the view we had. However, without hesitation, we would return to this really excellent hotel. The staff were so attentive, particular thanks to Franziska and Sofia, who looked after us so well. Thank you ladies you made our experience truly unforgettable. We also dined in the Chino Latino Restaurant in the evening and once again the service was fantastic, along with the great food. We have been coming to London for many years and have truly come accross somewhere that delivers a 5* service. Wll done Park Plaza Riverbank, we will see you again. - Tracey & Keith

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to the Riverview apartments, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear TraceysTravel,


Thank you for choosing us for your Jubilee weekend and your review. It was our pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel.

I read your review with great pride and look forward to sharing it with all the team, in particular Franziska and Sofia whom you have highlighted for their service.

I will ensure our Chino Latino Team is also receives a copy of your comments as an appreciation of their hard work.

Should you return to Plaza on the River to celebrate any special event or just for a short getaway as part of a holiday, please feel free to contact the Guest Relations team to arrange the reservation for you.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#385 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,932 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Property: Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,116 - ₹ 25,193
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing