We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza on the River
Nearby Hotels
US$ 311
US$ 236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 266
US$ 258
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 364
US$ 314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 231
US$ 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Hyde Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 878
US$ 674
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 383
US$ 180
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 154
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 215
US$ 172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
1,132
310
124
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
310
124
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschino latinoriver viewbig benone bedroom suitelondon eyevauxhall stationpark plaza riverbankalbert embankmentwashing machinea small grocery storeroom servicefloor to ceiling windowsfull kitchenvictoria lineguest relationsstar hotelbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family has had two stays in the two bedroom apartment suites here and absolutely loved it. The living quarters were so spacious - large closets, highest quality design and decor - leather couch and beautiful wood (well, actually I did not like one piece of art, but oh well...); the bedrooms were clean, quiet, and so comfortable. the two bathrooms were immaculate, and we enjoyed the kitchen as we all sat around the table for morning coffee or room service (which was very good.). That it is a suite with nice living area made it extra fun for our family, as we could have time together in beautiful space planning our day or watching tV at the end of the day. The view of the cityline and river was wonderful. There is a little grocery next door and an excellent restaurant in the Plaza, though it is true, to get to tourist attractions transportation is needed. It is not a remote location at all; it is just that it is across the bridge so it is not central, but then, the city is so spread out that it is hard to say what is central. We did take taxis but we did not mind, because coming back to our suite was like coming home. I hope we can come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Washington DC,
We are always very please to read that our guests' had a great experience and will continue to serve all our guests' with passion and individuality. Looking forward to your next visit.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here on 29/12/12 for our wedding night. Staff were excellent and the room (River view 2 bed suite with balcony) was unbelieveable. Absolutely superb from start to finish!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Uk
Thank you for taking the time writing to us and we wish you pleasant weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

yes you have to travel a bit to get to the main places. There is a bus stop just outside and they are frequent but takes longer. the tube is a little further to walk but more time efficient. The apartment was superb, we did get a free upgrade on arrival and those views both from inside the room and sitting on the balcony is fantastic. The little kitchen is very good even with a small coffee machine. All rooms can be closed off which gives you a nice feeling of individual rooms rather than a hotel with just one big room. The bar downstairs is great for a drink but its not noisy. The apartments are on one side then the hotel on another with the bar splitting it up in the middle which is an interesting concept but it works well. there is a small pool with some very nice lounges and daybeds. However it is expensive and you can still hear some traffic noise thats probably the downside. The windows are double glazed and when you open the doors to the balcony makes you realise how well it cuts down the traffic noise however when sleeping at night you can still hear some if your a light sleeper like me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaihappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Perth.
I would like to say thank you for your comments on trip advisor and making the time to leave us your positive experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and have a lovely weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were upgraded from a 1bed apt to a 2-bed apt which gave us that bit more welcoming space as we had a small birthday party gathering of friends and family. We had arranged in-room buffet dining and the food was scrumptious and so elegantly presented! The apartment had scenic views of the Thames and looked even better at night! Our room was decorated by prior arrangement with balloons and banners etc for a charge and we ordered a delicious Birthday cake gateau to share! The room decor was fresh, clean, bright and homely! There is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms as well as in the kitchen area. It is suitable for both short stay and long stay and is within walking distance of Vauxall tube station. The breakfast was an array of full English and continental delicacies. All the staff were extremely attentive, especially the Reception Manager and very accommodating with our requests. We were given complimentary drinks to have at the bar and we ordered some Tempura which was made to perfection and very well presented. The Lounge Bar area had a modern artistic flair with imagination! A great place to stay for so many reasons!

Room Tip: Higher floors give the best views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time2chillout321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear timetochillout321,
Thank you for your message on Trip Advisor and as always very please to see you had a brilliant Birtday with us.
Have a great weekend and we look forward seeing you soon.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at this classy apartment/hotel over the last weekend in February.

Gabriella at reception was superb and checked us in to a 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor with a lovely view of the River Thames. The apartment was very clean including both bathrooms. The walk-in shower was brilliant. One of the sinks in the bathroom didn't seem to drain the water properly but wasn't a problem given that we had another bathroom. The range of complimentary toileteries was excellent. The Nespresso machine was a very nice touch but they missed a trick by not providing any milk.

Fellow travellers should note that overnight parking on Plaza's secure on-site car parking will cost £26.00 per night. There was some confusion regarding this prior to our booking so we ended up parking on the side street given that it was a Saturday night.

We would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: 4th floor upwards should be high enough for a good view and ask for the apartments facing the Big Ben for an even better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Cheekymonk,
I do enjoy when my team goes that extra mile to deserve a personal mention on Trip Advisor. We will continue to ensure we keep Plaza on the River "classy" and look forward to your next visit.
Have a great weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews