We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expensive, impersonal, and noisy, yet clean and convenient.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Ranked #409 of 816 Speciality Lodging in London
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive, impersonal, and noisy, yet clean and convenient.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

A gang of drunken guests kept us awake one night. Staff was not in control. The in-charge staff made little effort to know their guests and stayed behind the sign-in desk, a sure sign of the "I'm in charge" attitude. I welcomed some of their suggestions, such as the cheapest way to get to the airport. But the name "Smart" hostel is misleading and I got the feeling that all the owners (whoever they are) t wanted was my money, Over-priced. Their hotel-hostel connotation needs to be looked at. Either you are a hotel or a hostel. Location was okay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder Bay International Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    95
    94
    54
    47
See reviews for
23
54
72
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Can't say anything about the hostel part, I booked one of the "hotel" rooms. The rooms were bigger than at the most of the hotels in the same price range, but you could hear everything from the street even at third floor level. The bed was squeaky, walls are paper thin as usual, tv had no remote but the room had a bathtub. Free wifi was a bonus.

It has a good location, few minutes to Queensway and just a stone throw to Hyde Park. It doesn't look very appealing, though, but it's not a dumpster like Wake Up, either.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitusSB, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We chose this hostel in late August, after an extended search. All the other places we considered had more minuses, like they were very far from the center, they were to expensive for what they were offering or they had terrible reviews. With Hyde Park View things were not great, but they were good on all aspects.
We did find the address pretty hard, but after that we realised that it is very easy to find once you know the place a little. It is a 5 minutes walk from Bayswater tube Station, which was great and the area is quiet and clean. We were a party of 6, and we had reserved 3 double rooms ensuite. On arrival only 2 of the rooms were ready, but that was because we arrived 3 hours before check in. They gave us the keys to the rooms that were ready so that we could use them for our luggage. When we got back at night the 3rd room was ok, so we settled in just fine.
The rooms were small and basic, but very clean and well heated. The breakfast, which was included, was basic, but ok. If I ever go back to London, I will most definitely stay in the same place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkk2chane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitusSB, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

we got a very very small double room, just enough to keep one bag and the room was full, it was neat and clean though. the location is ood 5 mins to the tube and good surroundings safe and clean and nice

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superstarintheworld
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hostel has two big problmes from the beginning:
1) its name
2) how to find it
In fact, on the door is written the hotel is not called Smart Hyde Park View but a total different name ( that now I do not remember sorry ), then the zone is central, quite close to Piccadilly Circus but you have to find the hotel. We hired a taxi and since on Internet there was written the hostel was in a certain address we sent the taxi driver there, he left and then we noticed there was not hostel, since it was a mew! So one of us staied there with the big baggages and the other went in the main road to ask for information, some receptionist of a hotel told us that the hostel closed ( we were so disappointed since we already pad a deposit ) but luckily she was wrong, it was a totally different address, quite close to it but since we did not know that zone of London we could not know it and, being with many big baggages we needed to hire a taxi once more, so we spent a little fortune just to find the place! Then we found it, it is nice from outside and also the reception area that has information about the local zone and about the main tourist places of London, one receptionist called Monika was particurarly nice and helped us with one of our luggages that was really broken. You can leave the baggages in the baggages room for free when you stay there or for 2 pounds per item if you don t lodge there. There was a breakfast room that during the day was used by people to play board games, watch tv or simply chat. The place is divided in two: one is for the hostel and one for the hotel. We had a room in the hotel so we used the lift but hostel has not lift. Anyway we did not go in the hostel so can not comment on it. The room was not that big but for this quality of hotel is pretty big, we had a double bed and sleeping there was not that good since the bed was totally uncomfy but we were so tired we slept anywway. There was a restroom in the room, the cleaning was not the best but there were not bedbugs. Breakfast is free, it is served from 8 to 10 in the morning. The zone is pretty nice since is well linked with buses and tube to the rest of London and to the centre but during the night is calm since is a residencial area and almost all the hostel or hostels need to respect the "silence rule" after 10pm. You can find places to eat in a short walk and by bus in about 20 minutes you can reach the famous Piccadilly Circus without even changing the bus number! We paid the room 70 pounds as a discount we found on internet, but since we staied in better places for that price, is not a big deal. If you just need a place to sleep and do not care much about the comf of the bed, then go with it, it is nothing that horrible, if you are a little flexible and want to play hide and seek to find the hostel ( we got lost one evening since the streets around it are all the same!).

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superstarintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#447 of 816 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cranbrook Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#148 of 816 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
RestUp London
#438 of 816 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Property: Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 816 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,418 - ₹ 8,923
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park View Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 110 yrd from Hyde Park, this hostel is a 5-minute walk from Queensway Underground Station. It offers spacious rooms with an en suite bathroom and free WiFi access throughout. The dormitories at Smart Hyde Park View all have lockers and a hairdryer for guests to use. Private rooms are also available, with a TV and telephone in each. Free Wi-Fi is available in the common areas. There is a lounge bar for guests to enjoy, with drinks, snacks and a flat-screen TV. Continental breakfasts are served daily. There is a 24-hour front desk and free luggage storage for early check-ins. The property is set in a classic listed building on a residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts. Smart Hyde Park View is 875 yrd from Kensington Gardens, and Marble Arch and Oxford Street are within 20 minutes' walk. The Royal Albert Hall can also be reached in 20 minutes' walk, and Westminster and the Big Ben are a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travellers interested in Shopping, Theatre and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing