We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 'Home' Away from Home in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #484 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Our 'Home' Away from Home in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

There is no better place to stay in London than the Glenlyn Guest House in Finchley. If you stay at the Glenlyn you are IN the city, but not pressured by any of the noise, traffic and congestion of downtown London. Yet, via the tube (a few short blocks away), you can get anywhere in London and the rest of the UK quite conveniently from this lovely boutique hotel (or large B & B). We have stayed at the Glenlyn a total of four times, each time better than the previous. We now consider ourselves among the many "regulars" of the place. When our younger son was getting married nearly over a year ago, we needed rooms for 23 family members from outside the UK, including siblings, cousins and even the grandparents, who were both over 90 years of age at the time. Paul (the owner's son and the hotel's manager) and his attentive staff handled all of us and our family's special needs with ease and grace. Our most recent visit during this past Christmas season was just as good as the first few times we have been at Glenlyn. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Always call in advance and speak directly to the staff. Don't rely just on the internet. Also, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    210
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
221
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here recently. Very impressed. Great value for money. Very near Tube station, Clean and very warm. Staff very pleasant. Great breakfast too. If you're looking for value for money, in a quiet location, close to public transport, with a good breakfast, then you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reflecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel was very clean. The rooms were very clean and smelt very clean.Lots of hot water and huge towels. 7min walk to the tube.Ample parking and left car all day whilst in centre of London. Lovely big flat screen TV and great hairdryer

Things that need to improve: The quilt in room 6 was in very poor condition...stuffing all bunched up and lumpy. Blanket provided but wasn'nt very clean. It was a shame there was no heat in the bathroom...heated towel rail would do the job well.
A bracket to angle TV to the bed would have been very helpful

Great stay if the bedding had been as lovely as the room.....
Will be back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avikinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I've stayed at the Glenlyn many times over the past few years and have probably been booked into most of their rooms by now. As a place to stay on business trips its been perfect. Considering where the hotel is based the value for money is excellent.

The hotel has all you need after a day of work - rooms and linen are clean and tidy, staff are friendly, and the bonus is the free breakfast!. Some reviews have mentioned the old furniture but that seems to add a bit of character to the rooms after a few visit - better than sterile hotel chains.

Location is good for London as its only a short walk from Woodside tube station, and a number of bus routes. If driving parking can be hit and miss in front of hotel, but there is usually on-street parking available at night. Being just off a major road into London is useful as well.

Hotel doesn't serve evening meals but there are a number of options nearby.

I've been fortunate to stay in one of their apartments which would be ideal for a family staying for a trip to London who don't want to eat out each night. The apartments are fully kitted out flats, and have a higher standard of fittings and furniture than the hotel rooms.

The only downside is this hotel is very popular so trying to book at the last minute I often missed out!

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different but note there is no lift. For a spot of luxury go for an apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delphwood_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week-end - two couples. We had a function in the local area.
The hotel is nicely situated near transport links, the bedrooms were very pleasant, the beds luxurious. There is a nice lounge to relax in and a separate bar and breakfast area. It was a bitterly cold week-end but the hotel was well heated. Everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to do everything they could to make us feel welcome and to help us in any way they could - above and beyond anything we have experienced in any other hotel., It is a family run hotel - and the individual attention we got made us feel like very special guests.
The breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked, very pleasant service and a good choice. We would highly recommend this delightful 'one off 'hotel/guest house to anyone. There is parking outside on their forecourt where we left our car. The friendly receptionist was very happy to book a mini cab service for us when needed, which worked well The whole weekend was a pleasurable experience..

Room Tip: we upgraded to a family room which had a king size bed plus a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#603 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.3 km away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#640 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
13.2 km away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#493 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#419 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.8 km away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#425 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
15.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,685 - ₹ 9,903
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing