We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jesmond Hotel
Ranked #20 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Among all the hotels in Gower Street this one's not the best one, but it's not bad at all.
The price for a double is the same as all the other ones; good location, friendly and helpful staff.
Small rooms with everything though, full English breakfast included and wi-fi.
If you have sleeping/back problems avoid this one: their mattresses are very soft and wobbly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reticulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in a Quad room for 3 nights with 3 other people during our stay in London. Room was satisfactory (small bathroom though as expected in Europe), Breakfast very nice and filling and staff were exceptional in all aspects. Close to transport and in a nice area of London. Would stay again if in London. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jesmond for 4 nights. Location is great - 2 minuets from Goodge st. Station, 10 min walk to Oxford st and buses just In front of the hotel.
We have arrived in the middle of the night, and although we were worried, there was someone waiting for us with the keys - no problems. We just had to call them from the airport after clearing customs. We asked for a room facing the back garden which was quite and got a double room with an extra bed in it so wasn't as small as we expected after reading the reviews here… breakfast was lovely and over all our stay was pleasent and we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RavivShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Smallish room (as you would expect this close to London Central) but this was well and truly compensated by the location, service, and breakfast. Didn't need a car, close to what we wanted - the underground, London and access to St Pancreas for Paris - we felt safe, even at night. Sleep quality was good, although we found the rooms a little warm for our liking (but this would be a plus for plenty of people travelling in the heart of winter - we just opened a window). Loved it and will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from a 5-night stay in the Jesmond Hotel, and would definitely come again. The hotel is very well located, close to the center, but also with a lot to offer in the immediate vicinnity - cafes, shops, bookstores, the British Museum, and especially the good restaurants on Charlotte St. We had a back ensuite room, which was quiet, and although the bathroom was very small, it was modern and well equipped. The room itself was simple, but comfortable and clean, with a kettle for making a hot drink. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are great, the downstairs sitting room is pleasant, and all of the staff were warm and friendly. Don't let the fact that there is no lift put you off. When we arrived, and when we left, we were helped with our bags. My only requests for a future stay would be new bedspreads and blankets, and a dimmer light in the small entry way outside our room - light shone into the room through the crack around the door. As long as you are not looking for luxury, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BethFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#289 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#36 of 571 in London
623 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 571 in London
235 reviews
The Cleveland
#19 of 571 in London
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Address: 63 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,152 - ₹ 17,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesmond Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a budget hotel in London? We welcome you to the Jesmond Hotel, a family-run, friendly bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of London. The Jesmond Hotel has been established and run by the Beynon family for over 30 years and we aim to provide friendly, affordable, hotel accommodation for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on the many guests that return to us year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing