We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value for your money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jesmond Hotel
Ranked #28 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for your money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jesmond for 4 nights. Location is great - 2 minuets from Goodge st. Station, 10 min walk to Oxford st and buses just In front of the hotel.
We have arrived in the middle of the night, and although we were worried, there was someone waiting for us with the keys - no problems. We just had to call them from the airport after clearing customs. We asked for a room facing the back garden which was quite and got a double room with an extra bed in it so wasn't as small as we expected after reading the reviews here… breakfast was lovely and over all our stay was pleasent and we highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RavivShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    190
    43
    19
    5
See reviews for
137
134
128
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Smallish room (as you would expect this close to London Central) but this was well and truly compensated by the location, service, and breakfast. Didn't need a car, close to what we wanted - the underground, London and access to St Pancreas for Paris - we felt safe, even at night. Sleep quality was good, although we found the rooms a little warm for our liking (but this would be a plus for plenty of people travelling in the heart of winter - we just opened a window). Loved it and will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovoth, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from a 5-night stay in the Jesmond Hotel, and would definitely come again. The hotel is very well located, close to the center, but also with a lot to offer in the immediate vicinnity - cafes, shops, bookstores, the British Museum, and especially the good restaurants on Charlotte St. We had a back ensuite room, which was quiet, and although the bathroom was very small, it was modern and well equipped. The room itself was simple, but comfortable and clean, with a kettle for making a hot drink. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are great, the downstairs sitting room is pleasant, and all of the staff were warm and friendly. Don't let the fact that there is no lift put you off. When we arrived, and when we left, we were helped with our bags. My only requests for a future stay would be new bedspreads and blankets, and a dimmer light in the small entry way outside our room - light shone into the room through the crack around the door. As long as you are not looking for luxury, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BethFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed at the Jesmond for 4 nights October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Clean, nice en suite single room, good breakfast. FriendIy staff. I love staying in Bloomsbury ever since living there for a short time in the '70's. Yes, the rooms are small and yes, there is traffic noise at times on Gower Street - all part of the London experience. Much, much more fun than a "big box" hotel and much less expensive than a boutique accommodation. Recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I am back in Australia now after staying at the Jesmond for 25 nights. It was perfect and certainly had all the right elements for a clean, comfortable and happy stay in the heart of London. I miss my cosy room there and the ever helpful Maria who made the most delightful breakfasts each day. All the staff were cheery and ready with advice when required. The fresh flowers in strategic places were a lovely touch, the computer was useful and the sense of safety and security invaluable. I will be returning to Jesmond as soon as I can save up enough for the airfare and I will be thinking of it fondly until then.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#90 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#25 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#51 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arran House Hotel
Arran House Hotel
#375 of 575 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 63 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,230 - ₹ 18,538
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesmond Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a budget hotel in London? We welcome you to the Jesmond Hotel, a family-run, friendly bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of London. The Jesmond Hotel has been established and run by the Beynon family for over 30 years and we aim to provide friendly, affordable, hotel accommodation for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on the many guests that return to us year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing