We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
Review of London Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Guest House
Ranked #492 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great little guest house. Stayed there a couple fo times for work now and the gentlemen that run are nothing but helpful. The rooms are adequate nothing fancy buts its cleana nd well priced. Only negative is that its at least a 15 minute walk to the nearest tube stop. Its in a safe area with a few shops and a garage very close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69potter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    121
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
47
60
34
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I had to find a B&B near Ealing last minute on a trip to London in January this year. I looked over a few more pricey options but decided to go cheap as it was only for one night.

I had a single room for the bargain price of around £30 including breakfast. The room was tiny, but it was en-suite. A bit of a squeeze but nonetheless I managed perfectly fine. The breakfast was adequate but they only do cold breakfast items, no hot food which is why the price is so good.

The room was well heated and I was never cold. I had some noisy neighbours who insisted on leaving their doors open to talk to one another but apart from that the staff were friendly and the amenities were adequate. The only minor complaints I would have is that my television was awful, the remote didn't work and it was a little scruffy around the edges but for the price everything was absolutely fine.

The man on reception also held my bags for me, free of charge during the day whilst I had to go to work which I thought was excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midnighttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly, very helpful staff, good value for money. The continental breakfast was adequate. The room was clean and comfortable. Well situated for transport to the city centre on the Cental Line Underground. Would stay there again any time I'm travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the building, so there was no street noise. If you have a problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmarieTshwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We found the London Guest House to be good value for money. London Hotels/B&Bs (the Guest House is advertised as both depending on where you look) are generally expensive and we found the Guest House to be one of the cheaper ones that still offered acceptable quality.

The hotel is in Acton, which is a little bit out of the way of the city center, but we nevertheless felt safe outside at night. There is a bus stop right next to the hotel for bus 266, which runs every 6-8 min on weekdays and will take you to North Acton tube station on the Central line (walking there takes about 20-25 min). From there it is easy to get to the main sights in the city center. Obviously this location isn’t perfect, but considering the prices you pay for a stay in a more central area it’s really quite acceptable. Get an Oyster card from the shop across the road from the hotel to pay for public transportation.

We arrived late at night (about a quarter to one) which was no problem because the reception desk is manned 24 hours a day (we did specify our arrival time during booking to make sure we would not be considered a no-show). Our room was barely large enough for a bed and a small excuse for a desk (it could just about fit our laptop), but it came complete with a small coffee/tea making facility, a large locker (big enough for the laptop), a flat-screen television and a slightly foul-smelling fridge. Don’t expect much space to store your luggage, but for short trips this is hardly an issue. The bathroom looked very new and clean and had a nice strong shower, but was amazingly small. Especially the toilet area could’ve done with a few extra inches of space: I am quite tall and actually had to sit slightly sideways on the toilet to accommodate my legs.

Service was generally good, with staff at the reception desk always available for advice (which is especially welcome since there was no hotel information in the room). There is wireless internet which is supposedly available for a fee, but we got it for free. Reception desk was also helpful when we were kept up at night by someone in a neighboring room having the television on quite loudly: they went up and asked them to turn it down a bit, which had an immediate effect and allowed us to get back to sleep. However, it also shows that the hotel isn’t very soundproof. Additionally, there is a main road outside and a parking lot at the back, which every now and then featured talking people in the early morning, so do expect some city noise. We also experienced a few interesting quirks that come with a small family-run hotel: on one day the clean towels were late due to a problem with their cleaning service, and on another day our dirty coffee cups were replaced with brand new ones that still had the price tags on.

Breakfast was very limited and just about acceptable. A large television was loudly showing BBC News. The selection of food was minimal, even for a free continental breakfast in a budget hotel. All products looked cheap as well. Still, it was enough to get us started in the morning.

To summarize: book this hotel for its value compared to quality. We recommend it for a short stay: it’s clean, there’s a free breakfast included (albeit a minimal one), the staff is nice and the location is ok. We do not recommend it for a longer stay because the small room and bathroom and the limited selection at breakfast would all become annoying after a while.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badeendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for a trip to wembley stadium, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean and very reasonably priced forLondon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigsyswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#405 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
London Star Hotel
#750 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#596 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Hotel 55
#419 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Glenlyn Hotel
#488 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Guest House

Property: London Guest House
Address: 167 Horn Lane | Acton, London W3 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in London
#262 Business Hotel in London
#356 Romantic Hotel in London
#373 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,038 - ₹ 14,017
Hotel Class:3 star — London Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family run B&B in the heart of West London. We are conveniently located near Central London without all the hustle and bustle that comes with it. With easy transports links (3 tube/train stations and 24 hour bus service), Central London is only 20 mins away. All our rooms are en-suite and contain a TV, fridge and tea/coffee-making facilities as well as free wifi. We have free on-site parking and a 24 hour reception desk. We make sure that you depart with our motto "A Home Away From Home" engraved into your mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your London Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing