We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Try better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #569 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Could Try better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and his birthday at the beginning of March. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. We were upgraded a room as I had asked for a large room. The room was very spacious with a queen sized bed, two seater sofa etc. The ensuite was on the small size compared to the room and needed a good vaccum in the corners to remove talcum powder and dust - my husband being just 6ft couldn't comfortably sit in the bath. The wardrobe space was extremely small because the cupboard next door housed a sink, draining board, microwave etc. (they call it a mini kitchenette). The fridge was not working as it should because it was in need of a serious de-frost. The cold water tap constantly gave hot water, so it was not possible to get a cold drink of water without putting water into the fridge for a few hours. The carpet was very "black" around the whole edge of the room and needed cleaning. In fact the room decor when you looked at it closely was a bit tired. The furniture was fine, this looked fairly new. You couldn't open either window in the main bedroom part, only the window in the kitchenette area and the hotel did have its heating up far too much as the weather outside was extremely warm for the time of year. The breakfast area was minute. The hotel has 17 rooms,but only four tables! The continental breakfast was OK but it did concern me that the ham (which resembled a piece of cardboard) was plated up without being on any form of cold surface (the breakfast area is in a glass conservatory, which was very warm as the weather was mild and they had two electric radiators switched on). The same with the juices and milk. It would have been nice to see these items being kept cool.

Room Tip: If you want a room on the front that is generous in size ask for a large room - we were upgraded whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    58
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
51
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in February, we stayed as we went to the theatre and wanted to stay in London.

Actually booked into the hotel next door (Clarendon hotel), they phoned whilst on route to London to say there was a maintenance problem and that they needed to move us into the hotel next door, The Buckingham hotel. They said they would upgrade us to a luxury room at no extra cost, we did not have much choice so accepted it.

Found the hotelm it was in a nice area with a number of hotels along the road. There is no parking for this hotel, we knew this and decided to worry about it when we arrived, there is a big underground car park a few minutes walk away, 24hour £35+, we drove around the corner and found an underground car park for £18, problem was it was closed on Saturdays!!! but the car park attendant pointed us towards the Imperial Hotel (less than 5 minutes walk from the Buckingham). Great value carpark at £18 for 24 hours.

Back to the hotel, We had room 1, very very big room with big big bed, lovely room, nice en-suite bathroom with bath and shower etc.

Breakfast was continental style, plenty of it can not complain, Breakfast was in the conservatory which only had a few tables, could imagine it gets very hectic at ''rush hour'', if you get in there early you will not have a problem.

My only complaint was that room 1 issituated near to the front door and there is noise when people come and go, especially in the early hours. I did have to complain about noise and was told somebody from the hotel management would be in touch with me, I am still waiting (4 weeks now).

I would return to this hotel or the Clarendon but would insist on a quiet room away from the front door/reception.

Hotel is in a great location, 10 minutes brisk walk to the theatres (Lyceum), we also walked to Covent garden, Soho, Leicester square, Piccadilly Circus, Regent Street, Tottenham Court Road.

Room Tip: Definitely not room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahatStannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I was staying in this grange hotel for 3 nights. My room was very big with a nice bathroom with lots of day light. The room was quiet as it was last floor and windows did not go to the side of the street, so I slept really well.
The very good impression of the hotel was spoiled by the fact that they were insisting for paying upfront.
Localisation is excellent, Russel Square is really close.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika111213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel. I was upgraded to a large room with a massive very comfy bed. I loved having a kitchen area with a microwave and fridge. The staff were all really nice and it's a great location for eating out - especially Italian! The only disappointment was the breakfast. It's served in a very nice but small conservatory. For continental breakfast it was okay if a bit limited and the cheese, ham and eggs looked as if they had been sitting out for a while.

Room Tip: basement room was a bit noisy but that's to be expected in London. I never travel without earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday weekend treat for my husband. The hotel was situated one street away from the London museum but the street its self was very quiet and tucked away. The room was much bigger than expected and was very clean (apart from the curtains which could have done with a good wash!) We were able to walk to many of the main attractions from here and alwasy felt safe. I would definitely stay at this hotel again though they do pre authorisation from your card and then full payment at the end which was slightly annoying. One the whole, a great choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#566 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#454 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#307 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#587 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#580 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Buckingham Hotel

Property: Grange Buckingham Hotel
Address: 39-40 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
#374 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,383 - ₹ 20,685
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Buckingham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grange Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing