We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated chic with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Understated chic with excellent service”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Thank you for an excellent evening recently in July for drinks in for a celebration - the atmosphere is unique as is the decor, the selection of drinks is immense - a combination of well-choosen wines, creative cocktails and delicious lightbites though the real special quality was the staff. The bar staff are incredibly knowledgeable (delicious bellinis) and our waitress - a young Irish girl- was exceptional. Thank you all for making a special day that little bit more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    182
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
189
676
85
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed overnight on the 18th august, room was wonderful, clean and spacious.Took our daughter for her Birthday, nothing was too much trouble, they really made us feel welcome all the staff was helpful and gave our daughter a Birthday to remember. Deffo 5 star service will certainly come back!! Thanks for a great stay from the Stones xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Along with Amansara, Amanjiwo and the Chedi in Chiang Mai, this is one of the very few hotels I've stayed in where the memory of being there just makes me smile, even more than a year afterwards.

We came here in odd circumstances: December 2010 and Christmas trip to NY cancelled because of the snow at Heathrow. We called the Soho Hotel on the off chance: it turned out that they had space, and not only did they have space, they were prepared to cut us a deal on their apartments. We spent 3 nights in a 1-bed apartment with the kids in the living room, and then 3 more in a 2-bed. Both were the epitome of luxury: warm-toned and sumptuous soft furnishings, clean-lined kitchens, huge beds where you sleep the minute you sink onto the soft but supportive mattresses. No shortage of space either - the four of us had come from a few days in One Aldwych, which whilst fine does not have the largest rooms, but here we could lounge around without tripping over the luggage.

This is a very special place: the atmosphere is boutique and almost clubby, but very welcoming. Coming into the lobby from the cold outside and the strength of colour almost overwhelms the eyes. It's fashionable without being coldly minimalist, cozy without being floral and flouncy. It's a very British thing, and the best of British: if you're a Brit you'll share with me some pride in places like this in the same way that you'll be proud of the 2012 Olympics.

We ate in the restaurant not only for breakfast as a family but also a couple of times a deux in the evenings while the kids chowed down room service. It was nice to have a la carte breakfast after the buffets in so many places: whilst buffets allow excessive consumption mostly for the kids, the freshness goes off the food, especially eggs if they aren't done to order. In the evening the restaurant was cool and sophisticated, without disappearing up its own backside.

Credit where it is due to the staff too, who were friendly and unpretentious to a fault: perhaps because it was Christmas and anyone who's in a hotel over Christmas, be they staff or guests, is a little out of place, maybe that infuses a sense of festive solidarity into things. This is one of those places where the celebrities come and go and we might have been the victims of snootiness from the staff for not being A-listers - but not a bit of it, they were lovely. Really first class places don't care about that sort of thing I guess.

For the four of us it was probably a over grand a night, so a sharp intake of breath on check-out, but really, it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you are a family and can afford it, go for an apartment, No 3 is particularly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Classy, luxurious, super friendly, intimate & just overall damn right lovely. Stayed in the 2 bed Apartment # 3 & I actually thought about taking squatters rights. Many celebs have stayed at this hotel and I truly felt like one. Breakfast was tasy & plentiful & we even had late night champagne served by our butler. Loved the apartment decor and little floral bouquets sent with every request brought to our room. Sooooo looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
355 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Great spacious rooms (de luxe type) and a nice if quirky decor.

This Hotel is the place to stay if you are in to theatre and nighlife. Despite all the hub hub around it, the hotel is quiet and peaceful and a great retreat. The staff is just wonderful - particularly the conceirge. Really helpful.

Seems to attract more than its fair share of the jet-set crowd. Don't be surprised to see a few familiar faces over breakfast.

Room Tip: I had a quiet inward facing room - towards Wardour Street. The Dean Street facing rooms may be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
2,081 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,088 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
768 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,106 - ₹ 1,22,267
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing